National, Front Page

Shamsher, Taimur head new BNP

Published : 18 Sep 2023 10:38 PM | Updated : 19 Sep 2023 04:49 PM

Many popular BNP leaders who have very clean political image,  may join Trinamool BNP, which was founded by former BNP standing committee member Barrister Najmul Huda.

Trinamool BNP, which is a registered political party will hold its first ever council in the capital Dhaka  today (Tuesday).

According to the party insiders, BNP Chairperson’s former adviser Advocate Taimur Alam Khandaker  and former Vice-Chairman of BNP Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury will lead the Trinamool BNP after being elected president and secretary of the party, which is basically a faction of BNP.

Referring  to the glorious political carriers of these two high voltage politicians, leading political observers hinted that the two former BNP leaders will pose a serious challenge for the BNP leadership when they will try to boycott the next national polls demanding the unconstitutional caretaker government.

They said many popular BNP leaders will join and seek party tickets from the Trinamool BNP to contest the upcoming parliamentary polls under the poll-time government led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Political insiders further said most of the clean image leaders of the BNP are now cornered by the corrupt, pro-Jamaat and terrorist type leaders.

BNP high ups usually choose corrupt leaders in forming various important committees, instead of dedicated  and clean image BNP leaders.

Thus the clean image politicians have been driven out from the party, mainly after Tarique Rahman had started controlling the BNP.

BNP’s student wing Jatiyatabadi Chattra Dal (JCD) President Kazi Rawnakul Islam Srabon was forced to be inactive as he had refused to mobilise JCD activists in carrying out destructive activities across the country.

Former BNP parliamentarian Major (retd) Akhtaruzzaman Ranjan was expelled from the party for his  alleged involvement  in anti-party activities. However, he is a very popular leader in his constituency.

Former Kishoreganj district BNP president Major (retd) Akhtaruzzaman will be  the Trinamool  BNP candidate for Kishoreganj-2 (Katiadi-Pakundia) constituency in the  next election.  He lost the seat to Awami League candidate and former IGP Nur Mohammad in the last parliamentary polls.

Former general Secretary of Khulna City BNP Nazrul Islam Manju, who was associated with the BNP for more than 40 years, is now corned by Tareque Rahman. He gathered more than fifty thousand people during BNP’s Khulna divisional rally. But his name even was not mentioned from the stage.

Former Cumilla City Corporation Mayor Monirul Haque Sakku has also been driven out from BNP’s politics as he contested the polls ignoring the decision of the party high ups. He may also join Trinamool BNP to fight the next polls from a Cumilla constituency.

Mujibur Rahman Sarwar  is also very influential leader in whole Barishal division while Mizanur Rahman Minu, an adviser to the BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia and former Rajshahi city mayor is a very popular politician in Rajshahi division.

Both of the former BNP-backed mayors have been made inactive as per decision of the party high ups.  They were not included in the current committee of BNP.

Dhaka Metropolitan South BNP Convener Abdus Salam is being cornered by BNP central Joint Secretary General and former convener of Dhaka South BNP Habib Un Nabi Khan Sohel, current Joint Convener Habibur Rashid Habib, and Hamidur Rahman Hamid.

As Shohel and Habib are pro-Tarique Rahman leaders while freedom fighter Abdus Salam is a pro-Khaleda Zia leader, Salam is being cornered.

Shamsuddin Khan, a member of BNP in Netrakona district, had lost his party post after making comment on a video speech of the party’s acting chairman on August 13.

After making the comments, he was served a show cause notice by the party and asked to apologise, but he didn't seek apology.

As a result, he was expelled from the party. Now he is going to join the Trinamool BNP. Thus dozen of popular BNP leaders were forced to leave the party, which ruled the country for years together.

Not only these popular leaders, many BNP leaders, who had joined BNP with BNP’s founder Ziaur Rahman, a military dictator, were several times insulted by Khaleda Zia and his son Tareque Rahman.

Former President Dr A Q M Badruddoza Chowdhury was the founding secretary general. Former BNP secretary general Abdul Mannan Bhuiyan joined BNP keeping hands of Ziaur Rahman.

Former information minister Barrister Nazmul Huda was a four-term Jatiya Sangsad member representing the Dhaka-1 constituency. The trio could not survive in the party for which they dedicated their most of the golden time of their lives. But Zia family did not give them their due honour. Consequenly, they formed new party resigning from BNP.

As a latest example, former adviser of BNP Chairperson Advocate Taimur Alam Khandaker  and former BNP Vice-Chairman Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury will revolt in BNP.

Political observers think their attempt will be successful as most of the BNP leaders want to participate in the next polls as per constitution.