National, Front Page

Quader makes hattrick

AL who’s who

Published : 24 Dec 2022 10:31 PM | Updated : 25 Dec 2022 05:40 PM

Apart from the reelection of Sheikh Hasina, the President of Awami League (AL) for the 10th consecutive terms, and Obaidul Quader, the general secretary for three consecutive terms, the 22nd National Council of the party on Saturday also announced the names of its other leaders.  

They were reelected for the next three years at the second session of the national council in the auditorium of Institution of Engineers, Bangladesh (IEB).

Advocate Yusuf Hossain Humayun, chief election commissioner of the council, declared the names of Sheikh Hasina and Obaidul Quader.

Earlier, AL Advisory Council Member Amir Hossain Amu proposed the name of Sheikh Hasina as president of the party and Dinajpur district AL president Mostafizur Rahman Fizar seconded the motion.

Sheikh Hasina, also the prime minister, was elected unopposed as there was no other candidate for the post.

Naogaon district AL general secretary Shadhon Chandra Majumder proposed Obaidul Quader’s name which was seconded by Dhaka district AL General Secretary Panirurzaman Tarun. Quader was also elected unopposed as there was no other candidate.

Later, newly elected president of AL Sheikh Hasina announced the names of presidium members, joint general secretaries, organising secretaries and secretariat members.

Presidium Members are -- Begum Matia Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Kazi Zafar Ullah, Engr Mosharraf Hossain, Piyush Kanti Bhattacharya, Dr Muhammad Abdur Razzaque, Lt Col Muhammad Faruk Khan, Shajahan Khan, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Abdur Rahman, A. H. M. Khairuzzaman Liton,  Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury Maya Bir Bikram, Adv Md Qamrul Islam, Simeen Hussain Rimi and Dr Mostafa Jalal Mohiuddin.

Joint-General Secretaries are -- Dr Hasan Mahmud, Mahbubul-Alam Hanif, Dr Dipu Moni and AFM Bahauddin Nasim.

Organising Secretaries are -- Ahmed Hossain, BM Mozammel Haque, Abu Saeed Al Mahmud Swapan, S. M. Kamal Hossain, Mirza Azam, Advocate Afzal Hossain, Shafiul Alam Chowdhury Nadel and Sujit Roy Nandi.

Besides, Treasurer HN Ashequr Rahman, Finance and Planning Affairs Secretary  Waseqa Ayesha Khan, International Affairs Secretary Dr. Shammi Ahmed, Legal Affairs Secretary Advocate Najibullah Hiru, Agriculture and Co-operative Affairs Secretary  Faridunnahar Laily, Information and Research Affairs Secretary Dr Selim Mahmood, Relief and Social Welfare Secretary Aminul Islam Amin, Publicity and Publication Secretary Dr. Abdus Sobhan Golap, Office Secretary Barrister Biplab Barua, Religious Affairs Secretary Advocate Sirajul Mostafa, Forestry and Environmental Affairs Secretary Delwar Hossain, Science and Technology Affairs Secretary Engineer Md. Abdus Sabur, Liberation War Affairs Secretary Advocate Mrinal Kanti Das, Youth and Sports Secretary Harunur Rashid, Education and Human Resource Secretary Shamsun Nahar Chapa, Commerce and Industries Secretary Md Siddiqur Rahman, Cultural Affairs Secretary Asim Kumar Ukil, Health and Population Affairs Secretary Dr. Rokeya Sultana and Women Affairs Secretary Jahanara Begum.

Sayem Khan retained his post of Deputy Office Secretary.

As many as 7000 councillors joined the council session of the Awami League.

Earlier, a three-member election commission was formed to conduct the council.

Party Advisory Council Member Yusuf Hossain Humayun was made the chairman while two other members were Prime Minister’s Economic Affairs Adviser and AL Advisory Council Member Dr. Mashiur Rahman and Advisory Council Member Mohammad Shahabuddin Chuppu.    

Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the 22nd national council of one of the sub-continent's largest political parties, Bangladesh Awami League in the morning.

She opened the council by hoisting the national flag and releasing pigeons and balloons at 10.30am at the historic Suhrawardy Udyan, amid tight security.