Pran Gopal declared winner in Comilla-7 polls

Published : 20 Sep 2021 02:38 PM | Updated : 20 Sep 2021 04:17 PM

Awami League candidate Prof Pran Gopal Datta has been declared winner in the by-election to Comilla-7 (Chandina) constituency.

Returning Officer and Comilla Regional Election Officer Dulal Talukder confirmed Datta’s election on Monday.

He said Pran Gopal has been declared elected unopposed as his only rival Monirul Islam of Bangladesh National Awami Party (NAP), withdrew his nomination on Saturday, a day before the deadline for candidature withdrawal.

Now the Election Commission Secretariat will publish a gazette on the election.

Pran Gopal was born on 1 October 1953 in Mohichail village of Chandina upazila. He passed SSC from Chandina Pilot High School in 1968, HSC from Comilla Victoria Government College in 1970 and MBBS from Chittagong Medical College. 

He was the organising secretary and publicity secretary of Chittagong Medical College Chhatra League.

Pran Gopal was the vice chancellor of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU) for eight years, in two consecutive terms, since 2009. 

He received the Swadhina Padak in 2012.