National, Front Page

Mithu elected DRU president, Hasib secretary

Published : 30 Nov 2021 10:49 PM | Updated : 01 Dec 2021 05:18 PM

Nazrul Islam Mithu and Nurul Islam Hasib have been elected president and general secretary respectively of Dhaka Reporters’ Unity (DRU) for the next one year.  

The high-voltage election to the executive body of the organisation of reporters was held on Tuesday. 

In the polls, Nazrul Islam Mithu of German news agency Deutsche Presse-Agentur bagged 449 ballots while Nurul Islam Hasib of Bangladesh Post polled 500 votes.

The official election results show that a total of 1,454 voters exercised their franchise in the election in which the voter turnout was 84.4 percent.

Osman Gani Babul was elected vice-president securing 383 votes while Shahnaz Sharmin was voted to the post of joint secretary (with 832 ballots), SMA Kalam treasurer (with 678 votes) and Abdullah Al Kafi organising secretary (837 votes).

Rafique Rafi was elected office secretary (715 votes), Tapshi Rabeya Akhi women affairs secretary (859 votes), Kamal Uddin Sumon publicity and publication secretary (723 votes), Kamal Mosharef information technology and training secretary (uncontested), Maksuda Lisa sports secretary (723 votes), Nadia Sharmin cultural affairs secretary (973 votes), Mohammad Akhtaruzzaman entertainment secretary (uncontested) and Kamruzzaman Bablu welfare secretary (780 votes).

Besides, Hasan Javed, Mahmudul Hasan, Solamain Salman, Shushanto Kumar Shaha, Mohammad Al-Amin, SK Reza Parvez, Mohammad Tanvir Ahmed and Mohammad Salim Ullah Mezbah were elected members of the Executive Committee.

Related Topics