Cluster entry tests for 19 public varsities

DU, RU, JU, CU won’t follow the system

Admission tests for the 2020-2021 academic year at 19 general and science and technology universities across the country will be held in the cluster system.

The examinations will be held on three subjects- [Science, Humanities and Business Studies]. There will be direct [not online] admission testing at these public universities. Question papers will be prepared based on the syllabus of higher secondary.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) made the final decision at a views-exchange meeting with vice chancellors (VCs) of general and Science and Technology universities on Tuesday. 

Besides, the UGC will also decide on entry tests for agriculture and engineering universities soon after conducting a meeting with the VCs of these universities, UGC sources said. 

At the meeting, Jagannath University Vice-Chancellor, Prof Mizanur Rahman, also the joint convener of the cluster of General and Science and Technology University said, “Central Admission Test Committee comprising VCs will decide on the admission test procedure for the group/cluster. The committee will score students based on the admission test.”

“The universities of this group will publish advertisements in the newspapers regarding the admission of students mentioning their respective conditions and demands. Universities will admit students with scores. Therefore, no separate admission test will be taken,” he added.

UGC chairman Prof Kazi Shahidullah, who joined the meeting virtually said, “Due to covid-19 pandemic, there is no chance for the universities to withdraw from the cluster system admission test.” 

He urged the vice-chancellors to prepare for the admission tests in a direct and easy manner, keeping all aspects of students and their guardians in mind. 

Apart from VCs, UGC members Prof Md Sajjad Hossain, Prof Muhammad Alamgir, Prof  Biswajit Chand and Prof Md Abu Taher were present at the meeting.

On 23 January, the UGC decided to introduce a uniform entry test in all public universities across the country from the academic year 2020-21, aiming to reduce the plight of the admission-seekers and their guardians.

Last year, the country’s seven agriculture universities had conducted cluster system admission tests.

Meanwhile, Shahjalal University of Science & Technology, Khulna University, Islamic University, Haji Mohammad Danesh University of Science & Technology, MawlanaBhashani Science & Technology University (MBSTU), Noakhali Science & Technology University, Jagannath University, Cumilla University, JatiyaKabi  KaziNazrul Islam University, Jashore Science & Technology University, Begum Rokeya University, Pabna Science & Technology University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, Barishal University, Rangamati Science and Technology University, Rabindra University, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Digital University, Sheikh Hasina University, Bangamata Sheikh FojilatunnesaMujib Science & Technology University will conduct the cluster exams.

However, the country’s top four general public universities including Dhaka University, Jahangirnagar University, Rajshahi University and Chattogram University will not join the cluster admission system. 

Decision on engineering cluster, including Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET), Khulna University of Engineering & Technology (KUET), Rajshahi University of Engineering and Technology (RUET) and Chittagong University of Engineering and Technology (CUET) will be taken soon.