National, Front Page

By-poll winners take oath as MPs

Published : 09 Feb 2023 12:18 AM

Winners in the by-elections to six constituencies took oath as members of the National Parliament on Wednesday.

Parliament Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath through a function held at her office in the Parliament building.

Parliament Secretary KM Abdus Salam conducted the oath taking ceremony.

Those who took oath are Hafiz Uddin Ahmmed of Jatiya Party (Thakurgaon-3), AKM Rezaul Karim Tansen of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Bogura-4), Ragebul Ahsan Ripu of Bogura-6 (Awami League) Muhammad Ziaur Rahman of Chapainawabganj-2 (Awami League), Md Abdul Odud of Chapainawabganj-3 (Awami League) and Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan of Brahmanbaria-2 (Independent).

Deputy Speaker in the National Parliament Md Shamsul Huq Tuku, Chief Whip Nur-e-Alam Chowdhury, Whips Iqbalur Rahim and Atiur Rahman, Md. Mujibul Huq Chunnu, Fakrul Imam, Samil Uddin Ahmed Shimul, Umme Fatema Nazma Begum and Ferdowsi Islam, among others, were present at the oath taking ceremony.

Those six seats in the parliament became vacant after all the six lawmakers of BNP resigned. Later, byelections to those seats were held on February 1.

In the by-election, Awami League contested for three seats, two were left for its allies and the rest one kept free to all.