Front Page, National

BCL gets fresh leadership

Saddam president, Inan gen secy

Published : 21 Dec 2022 09:55 PM | Updated : 21 Dec 2022 09:59 PM

Saddam Hossain has been made the president of the central committee of Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL), the student wing of the ruling Awami League, and Sheikh Wali Yasir Inan, its general secretary.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, the President of Bangladesh Awami League and also the organisational chief of BCL, on Tuesday night named new BCL leaders from the Gonobhaban, the official residence of the PM.

Later Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced the names before the journalists, after over 45 days of the 30th national council of the BCL at Suhrawardy Udyan in the capital.

Alongside the central committee of the BCL, at the same time, names of the presidents and general secretaries of three other units--Dhaka University, Dhaka North City and Dhaka South City--of the BCL were also announced Tuesday night.

According to sources, Mazharul Kabir Shayon has been made the president of the BCL’s Dhaka University unit committee and Tanbir Hasan Shaikat, its General Secretary.

Tanbir Hasan Shaikat confirmed the news and said, "BCL has its own constitution in front of it. We ourselves will do what is necessary to maintain the sovereignty of the country. And under no circumstances will we back down or forget our duty."

Besides, Riaz Mahmud has been made the president of Dhaka North unit committee of BCL and Sagar Ahmed, the general secretary while Rajibul Islam has been made the president of Dhaka South Unit of BCL and Sajal Kundu, the general secretary. 

Bangladesh Chhatra League’s council was held at Suhrawardy Udyan on Dec 6 after a four-year gap. 

BCL sources said, the newly formed BCL committee’s President Saddam and General Secretary Inan are both students of the Law department of DU and their session was 2011-12.

Earlier, Saddam performed duty as general secretary of the DU unit BCL.

Besides, Mazharul Kabir Shayan and Tanvir Hasan Saikat are the students of Anthropology and Theater and Performance Studies disciplines respectively and their honours’ sessions were 2011-12 and 2013-14.

Meanwhile, the new leaders of the BCL on Wednesday paid their rich tributes to the Father of the Nation Bangabandhi Sheikh Mujibur Rahman at Bangabandhu Memorial Museum at Dhanmondi.

On the other hand, immediately after the announcement of the new leaderships, leaders and activists across the country brought out processions welcoming their new leaders.