National, Front Page

10 districts declared ‘red zones’ partially

Published : 22 Jun 2020 10:03 PM | Updated : 05 Sep 2020 10:47 AM

The government has announced 27 more areas of 10 districts as high-risk areas or 'red zones' to contain the spread of the disease.

This was decided on the basis of mortality and infection rates of the coronavirus in the respective areas.
The Ministry of Public Administration has issued a notification declaring a ‘general holiday’ in the areas identified as red zones. The notification issued in this regard said that from June 21, the areas identified as red zones will have general holidays for different periods. The notification issued on Sunday night.

The public notice said, "The holiday will be applicable to all government, semi-government, autonomous, semi-autonomous, statutory and private offices, institutions and agencies located in the area declared in the red zones and working in other areas."
The districts in which general holidays have been declared for enforcement are, Chattogram, Bogura, Moulvibazar, Chuadanga, Jashore, Madaripur, Narayanganj, Habiganj, Munshiganj and Cumilla.

All the employees, who are residents of red zones, will also enjoy this general holiday and all emergency services will remain out of red zone restrictions.

The notification stated the decision was taken to control public movement strictly considering the risk of infection in the areas. The holidays will be effective only in the ‘red zones.’

According to the notification, in Chattogram, Uttar Kattali area of Ward-10 (except the BSCIC industrial area) under Chattogram City Corporation will be under the purview of the enforcement. Here, the holidays will continue until July 8.

The holidays will be effective in Chelopara, Nataipara, Naruli, Jaleswaritala, Sutrapur, Maltinagar, Thanthania, Haripari and Colony areas of Bogura until July 5.

In Chuadanga, wards 5 and 7 of Darshana Municipality in Chuadanga’s Damurhuda upazila will be under the announcement until July 8.

General holidays will be effective in some areas of Sreemangal sadar, Baramchal, Kadipur unions and Kulaura municipality of Moulvibazar district until July 5.

Besides, some areas of Rupganj sadar union in Narayanganj will be under the purview of the holiday until July 2.
In Habiganj, ward 6 and 9 of Habiganj municipality, Deorgach, Ubahata, Ranigaon, and sadar municipality of Chunarughat; 

Ajmiriganj Sadar union; and Madhabpur municipality area will be under the holidays until July 9.
The holidays will be effective for Mathpara area of ward-1 in Munshiganj municipality until July 9.

Residents of areas falling under wards 3, 10, 12 and 13 of Cumilla City Corporation will enjoy the holiday till July 3.
Vast areas of Jashore and Madaripur will also come under the red zones strict lockdown until different dates. The closure will be effective only in the red zones.