Zimbabwe in town to play tri-nation T20 series

The Zimbabwe cricket team arrived in Dhaka today to take part in the Tri-nation T20 series involving Afghanistan and host, scheduled to begin from September 13, report BSS.

Hamilton Masakadza, who will retire from all forms of cricket after the tri-nation, will lead the side in the tri-nation that will be hosted in Dhaka and Chattogram.

Zimbabwe’s strength was arguably weakened as they are going to miss the service of seasoned campaigner Sikandar Raza who has faced a disciplinary action by his board.

After completing the series in Bangladesh, Zimbabwe will go to Singapore to play another Tri-nation T20 tournament. Zimbabwe’s participation in the tournament was in limbo following ICC’s ban on them.

But there is clause that they can play tournament which is not organized by ICC and therefore they have become the part of this Tri-nation tournament in Bangladesh. Zimbabwe will play a warm up game against BCB XI before beginning their campaign in the Tri-nation.

Zimbabwe squad: Hamilton Masakadza (capt), Regis Chakabva, Richmond Mutumbami, Sean Williams, Neville Madziva, Tinotenda Mutom­bodzi, Tony Munyonga, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara, Christopher Mpofu, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Ainsley Ndlovu, Timycen Maruma, Ryan Burl.