Sports, Cricket

Windies announces T20 squad for Bangladesh series

Published : 29 Jun 2022 08:02 PM

Left-arm fast bowler Obed McCoy has returned to West Indies' squad for the forthcoming T20 series against Bangladesh. McCoy, a key member in the latter stages of Rajasthan Royals' run to the IPL final, returns as the two-time world champions attempt a personnel refresh in a quest to identify the best players for this year's T20 World Cup.

Among the changes, Shamarh Brooks, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul and Devon Thomas have all returned at the expense of Fabian Allen, Roston Chase and Sheldon Cottrell. West Indies' selection committee have also elevated Rovman Powell to T20I vice-captaincy.

The ODI side, meanwhile, sees a call-up for Gudakesh Motie, who has played a Test and a T20I each. Jason Holder will miss both the white-ball formats after asking for a rest owing to his relentless playing schedule.

The white-ball leg of Bangladesh's visit begins on July 2 with the first two T20Is at Windsor Park in Dominica. The third T20I and all three ODIs will subsequently be played in Guyana.

T20I Squad: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice-Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr. Reserve: Dominic Drakes

ODI Squad: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Anderson Phillip, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales.