Sports, Cricket

Tiger’s T20 squad announced for Zimbabwe series, new face added

Published : 05 Mar 2020 08:29 PM | Updated : 02 Sep 2020 06:48 AM

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced today the Twenty20 squad for Zimbabwe with one match remaining in the ODI series, report agencies. 

The selectors have announced a four-man squad for the two-match Twenty20 series against Zimbabwe. 

For the first time, left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed has been named in the national team with this series.

Nassum is a known name in domestic cricket in Bangladesh. Sylhet Division A spinner is played by the BCB age-based team.  The 20-year-old cricketer has caught the eye playing for Chittagong Challengers in this BPL. 

Mushfiqur Rahim and Mohammad Saifuddin have returned to the squad. Mahmudullah as usual is leading the team. The selectors have been selected for a total of five 'specialist' pacers in team, including pace all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin. Soumya Sarkar is also capable of  doing medium pace. Mehidi Hasan, Aminul Islam and Nasum are the spinners. It means, selectors have drawn in a right-handed off-spinner, a right-handed leg spinner and a left-handed spinner.

Bangladesh will play the first Twenty20 against Zimbabwe on March 9 in Dhaka. The next match is on March 11 also in Dhaka.

T20 Squad

Mahmudullah (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Naeem Sheikh, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehdi Hassan, Aminul Islam, Mostafizur Rahman, Shafu Alam Hossain, Shafin Mahmood, Nasum Ahmed.