Nuruzzaman Biswas of Awami League winner

Awami League candidate Nuruzzaman Biswas has won the by-election of Pabna-4 (Ishwardi-Atgharia) constituency unofficially.

Nuruzzaman Biswas got 2,39,924 votes with the boat symbol. His nearest rival Habibur Rahman Habib, advisor to the BNP chairperson and convener of the Pabna district BNP, got 5,576 votes. Besides, Jatiya Party candidate Rezaul Karim Khokon got 3,074 votes.

Pabna District Returning Officer Abdul Latif Sheikh announced the results after counting the votes at 129 polling stations in Ishwardi and Atgharia upazilas on Saturday night (September 26).

After counting the votes, he told reporters that the election was held in a peaceful atmosphere.

Voting for the by-elections in Ishwardi and Atghoria will be held from 9 am to 5 pm on Saturday.

The total number of voters in Pabna-4 (Ishwardi-Atgharia) constituency is 3,81,112 people. Of these, 1,91,712 are male voters and 1,89,400 are female voters. The total number of voters in Ishwardi Upazila is 2,54,097 people and the total number of voters in Atgharia Upazila is 1,27,015 people.

Habibur Rahman Habib, a candidate for the paddy sheaf symbol cancelled the vote at a press conference at 12 noon on Saturday and demanded re-election.

Incidentally, Pabna-4 consists of Ishwardi and Atgharia upazilas of Pabna. Awami League leader Shamsur Rahman Sharif Dilu was elected MP in the last 5 terms. The seat became vacant as he passed away on April 2.