JUJA gets new executive body

Md Asaduz Zaman of The Daily Star and Md Mahbub Alam of the Daily Inqilab were elected as president and general secretary respectively of Jahangirnagar University Journalists’ Association (JUJA) for next one year.

The election was held on Thursday at the JUJA office of Teacher-Student Centre on the campus. Chief Election Commissioner Professor Dr. Md. Khalid Quddos announced the election result around 2:00 pm. Assistant Election Commissioner Associate Prof. Sayema Khatun and Assistant Prof Md Rejaul Rakib, among others, were present at the result announcement ceremony.

The other elected office bearers are Vice President Rahul M Yousuf of Daily Jugantar, Joint Secretary Abir Abdullah of Banglanews 24.com, Treasurer Tarek Aziz of Daily Observer and Office and Publication Secretary Rudro Azad of Barta24.com.

The three elected executive members are Osman Gani Rashel of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS), Md. Belal Hossen of The Daily Campus and Imran Hossain Himu of Barta Bazar.

Earlier, JU Pro Vice Chancellor (Administration) Professor Amir Hussain, Representatives of Jahangirnagar University Teachers’ Association (JUTA), teachers of different departments, representatives of different social, political and cultural organisations visited the election centre.