‘Egypt champions for men, Malaysia for women’

Published : 24 Mar 2022 12:34 AM | Updated : 24 Mar 2022 12:48 AM

Egypt's Yassin Ilshafi is the 2022 boys' champion at the Bangamata SA Group International Squash Tournament.  He defeated Abhishek Agarwal of India.  Malaysia's Vinikasheni has become the champion in the girls' category.  He defeated Fatham of Sri Lanka.

 Prizes are distributed among the winners at the end of the final game.  Prize money is given as a prize.

 A closing ceremony was held at the tournament venue Chittagong Club on Tuesday evening.  The chief guest on the occasion was Ekushey Medal winning eminent media personality, Daily Azadi Editor MA Malek, SA Group of Industries Chairman Shahabuddin Alam, General Secretary of the Federation Brigadier General GM Kamrul Islam, SPP (Retd), Squash Federation Vice President Mirza Salman Ispahani, SA Group of Industries Managing Director Sajjad Arefin, Chittagong Club Member in-charge Azizu Hakim, Chittagong Club Executive Board members, participating players, invited guests and journalists.

 Chief Guest MA Malek said there is no substitute for sports in building a healthy and strong nation.  If this game can be spread especially among the youth, new players will be created who will be able to show the dignity of Bangladesh to the world in the future. SA Group of Industries Chairman Shahabuddin Alam said, “We are happy to have successfully completed this tournament in memory of Bangamata.  

He said, our investment is to build a healthy and strong nation. The tournament will play a vital role in making Chittagong a viable venue for international tournaments. He also thanked the players from all over the country and all those involved in the tournament.

 General Secretary of the Squash Federation Brigadier General GM Kamrul Islam said that the successful completion of this international tournament with boys and girls would brighten the image of the country abroad. He expressed his gratitude for the sponsorship of SA Group in the tournament.

 Apart from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Iran, Canada, Malaysia, Australia, Kuwait and Egypt have participated in the squash tournament which started on March 18 in the port city of Chittagong under the auspices of SA Group.