Sports, Cricket

BSPA accolade for Sports Personalities of the year 2022

Published : 28 May 2023 07:34 PM | Updated : 28 May 2023 07:34 PM

Cricketer Litton Das won the the prize of the Sports Press of the year 2022 when Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA) awarded sports men, sports personalities, coaches, organisers and sponsors in gala ‘ Kool-BSPA Award 2022’  ceremony on Sunday.

Held at the hotel Pan Penfacipic Sonargaon, BSPA awarded prizes the best sports personalities in 15 categories, Zahid Ahsan Russel State Minister for Youth and sports distributed prizes among winners.

 Amjad Aziz Malik, Secretary General of International Sports Press Association's continental section AIPS Asia and deplomates of different countries and Anjan Chowdhury Pintu, chairman of the Square Toiletries Limited attended the ceremony as special guest.  

Amjad Malik also handed over the Asia’s best best award to the EC at the gala occasion ‘Kool-BSPA Sports Award 2022’ when  the oldest sports journalist and writers organisation had the recognition as the best organisation of sports journalists  in Asia in acongress of the AIPS in Seoul, Korea.  

This year 19 personalities including players, organizers, coaches and sponsors were award in 15 categories for their success in the national and international arena in 2022. 

Litton Das won the prize of the best ‘Sports Person of the year 2022’ when footballer Sabina Khatun and archer Nasrin Akhter was also nominated for the award.

But Cricketer Litton Das left behind his compitators to win the prize for his outstanding performances in all three formats - Test, ODI and T20 at international circuit.

Litton Das (Best cricketer, man 2022): Litton Das was selected as the best cricket of the year 2022 for the best performances among all the cricketers in all format of cricket in international level when he scored 800 runs in Test playing 10 matches (18 innings, highest 141 runs) with two centuries and five 50s.  In one day Litton played 13 matches and scored 577 runs (highest (136 runs) with a century and four 50s.

The other winners are: 

Nafiz Iqbal and Sifat Ullah Galib (Emerging Sportsman, Table tennis and Badminton).

Nafiz, a young player of the Jahangir Builder team in the Metropolis Furst Division Table Tennis League, won gold in team events along with Muhtasin Ahmed Rhydoy and Ramhim Lyon Bom in the South Asian Junior and Cadet Championship.

Sifat Ullah Galib paring with Mustakim won gold in the South Asian regional Junior Badminton Championship when he (Galib)also he also played in the semifinal in single in the competition.   

Nasrin Akhter (best Archer), won three gold in the Asia Cup Archery Stage One 2022 Recurve Single event in Fuket, Thailand.      

Nigar Sultana (Best cricketer woman) is the best performer in women cricket for Bangladesh in 2022. Nigar scored 235 runs in 10 ODI and 367 in 17 international T20 matches.    

Robson Da Silva (Best foreign footballer), the Brazilian, who players for Bashundhara Kings scored 16 goals in 20 matches.  

Sabina Khatun, (best footballer) is the most influential player of Bangladesh national women team, she one of the best women footballer in the South Asia.  

Bangladesh Kabaddi Federation (Best organization), Imranur Rahman (Best Ahletes), Golam Rabbani Choton (Best Coach), Sumita Rani Das, Hurdler (Special honour), Amirul Islam (Grass Root organiser, Kushtia), Ashraful Islam (Best Hockey player), SAFF Women Championship winners Bangladesh women team (Best team success).