Sports, Cricket

BPL GC names franchise owners

Published : 25 Sep 2022 07:42 PM

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 Governing Council has revealed the owners of the seven franchises for the upcoming three editions of BPL.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) received about nine applications to acquire a franchise in the BPL. Shakib al Hasan's Monarch Mart also approached BCB for a slot. 

Fortune Barishal Sports Limited owns the franchise of Barishal. Mind Tree Group got Khulna for the first time. Pragati Green Auto Rice Mill was last time in charge of franchise in Sylhet. Now they got Dhaka. Future Sports Bangladesh Limited has acquired Sylhet Franchise.

Rangpur is in the hands of Bashundhara Group's Toggi Sports Limited. Delta Sports Chattogram. Cumilla Legends Limited is getting the franchise of Cumilla.

BCB had slated January 2023 to hold the next edition of the BPL but the schedule directly clashes with the inaugural edition of UAE's International League T20 along with the South African CSA T20 Challenge League.

The BCB has scheduled to hold the 2023 BPL from January 5 to February 16.