AL picks up Nira for Jashore UZ by-polls

Nurjahan Islam Nira, former president of district Mahila Awami League and acting chairman of Jashore Sadar Upazila Parishad, has been nominated as Awami League candidate for by-election in chairman post of upcoming Jashore sadar Upazila Parishad elections.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the Local Government Representative Nomination Board of Awami League at Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina's official residence Ganobhaban on Monday evening. Nurjahan Islam Nira confirmed the matter to the media.

The by-elections will be held on October 20. A total of 19 leaders of Awami League and its affiliated organizations applied for party nomination. 

Shahin Chakladar resigned as chairman before being elected as MP from Jashore-6 (Keshabpur) constituency.

Nur Jahan Islam Nira has been active in Awami League politics for 39 years. She got involved in politics during her student life. She was the first directly elected (general seat) commissioner (Councilor) in Jashore Municipality. 

She was born at Galgalia village under Bagharpara upazila of Jashore. Her father’s name is Rafiuddin Ahmed and mother was Sufia Begum. Rafiuddin Ahmed was founding member of Bagharpara upazila Awami League. At present, Nur Jahan Islam Nira is a resident of Kazipara Old Kasba in Jashore.