All Section, Education & Culture

campus news

40 DU students given Sumitomo corp scholarship

Published : 06 Mar 2020 06:47 PM | Updated : 07 Sep 2020 09:09 PM

A total of 40 under-graduate students from different academic years of Dhaka University (DU) have been given Sumitomo Corporation Scholarship, Japan on Wedesday at Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban of the university. Dhaka University Vice-Chancellor Professor Dr Md Akhtaruzzaman distributed this scholarship among the students as chief guest.

Treasurer of DU Professor Dr Md Kamal Uddin presided over the function while Japanese Ambassador to Bangladesh Naoki Ito and General Manager of the Sumitomo Corporation Ichiro Takahashi addressed it as special guests. Advisor of the Sumitomo Corporation Khondker Ali Ershad declared the names of awardees while Deputy Registrar of DU Sheoli Afsar delivered welcome address.

DU Registrar Md Enamuzzaman conducted the programme. Professor Akhtaruzzaman congratulated the awardees for receiving this prestigious scholarship. He also thanked the Sumitomo Corporation authorities for providing scholarship to DU meritorious students. 

He urged the brilliant students to prepare themselves as skilled human resources to make Bangladesh a prosperous country. Awardees of different years are: first year (Hons)- Rubiaat Hasan Sawon (Law), Md Sohanul Islam (Accounting and Information Systems), Mohaimanul Haque (Marketing), Md. Rakibul Islam and Md Chanchal Mahmud (International Business), Fatiha Khatun (Organization Strategy &

Leadership), Bushra Rahman and Tanjila Akter(Soil, water and Environment ), Md. Ariful Islam (Leather Engineering and Technology) and Sayma Alam (Nutrition and Food Science).

Second year (Hons.)- Jannatul Ferdous (Finance), Md. Rasel Mia (Management Information Systems), Md Asiful Islam (Accounting and Information Systems), Sanjida Islam (Marketing), Kumari Rotna Rani (International Business), Khandakar Taki Md. Sadi (Soil, Water and Environment), Easif Ahmed (Disaster Science and Management), Md Abul Kalam Azad (Electrical and Electronic Engineering), Mir Mohammad Mohoshin Kabir (Nuclear Engineering) and Nawara Mahmood Broti (Robotics and Mechatronics Engineering).

Third year (Hons.)- Mosumi Akter (Mathematics), Sujata Amin (Law), Shuvojit Halder (Finance), Subrota Kumar Das (Marketing), Monirul Islam and Md Ariful Islam (International Business), Eti Akter (Public Administration), Tonmoy Saha Joy (Mass Communication and Journalism), Raz Kumar Halder (Soil, Water and Environment) and Kazi Kamrun Naher Ononna (Nuclear Engineering).

Fourth year (Hons.)- Md Mohtasir Billah Sheraj (Physics), Md Emon Arefin (Banking and Insurance), Tanvir Ahmed (Management Information Systems), Kutub Uddin Khan (Economics), Farhana Firoz Meem (Soil, Water and Environment), Md Rafiul Islam Ranga (Microbiology), Tasnuva Tabassum Antara and Md Alamgir Kabir (Pharmacy), U Mong Shing (Geology) and Labibuzzaman Mustabeen (Nuclear Engineering). Earlier, Japanese Ambassador to Bangladesh Naoki Ito paid a courtesy call on Dhaka University VC at the latter’s office of the university.