11 freedom fighters awarded reception in Ctg

Published : 17 Dec 2019 08:57 PM | Updated : 07 Sep 2020 06:43 PM

Eleven freedom fighters (FF) were awarded with the highest honour at the victory day programme arranged at Jamal Khan MA Hashem square in Chattogram city on Tuesday. 

The reception programme was graced by city mayor AJM Nasiruddin as the chief guest. Bangla Academy prize winner writer Rashed Rouf was the main speaker at the function. The freedom fighters, who have been awarded with honourary awards are – General Ziauddin Mamun, Language veteran Ostad Mihir Lala, Joyanti Lala, Prabal Chowdhury (posthumous), Mrinal Bhattachariya, Ajoy Kishore Hore, Sujit Roy, Ajit Dasgupta, Nuruddin Khaled Babu (posthumous), Sanowar Alai (posthumous) and FF Ahmed Hossain. The chief guest handed over the honorary crests to the FFs and their family members.   Speaking on the occasion, mayor Nasir reiterated the glorious moments of victory day and remembered the supreme sacrifices of the freedom fighters.