BangladeshPost placeholder

SM Mizan
Mystery surrounds the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) dominated Jatiya Oikyafront which was the brainchild of Dr. Kamal Hossain.
Political analysts and the common people of the country now wonder as to who is actually holding the steering of the alliance as Dr. Kamal Hossain seems to have been sidelined.
Many of the vocal alliance key leaders like ASM Rob and Mahmudur Rahman Manna are not seen or heard from the platform anymore.
It is BNP that has taken over the alliance with Fakhrul Islam Alamgir acting as the spokesperson. It is also being discussed in political circles that some of them might not even contest the December 30 national election.
According to party insiders, as the poll wave is becoming more intense every day, Gano Forum President Dr. Kamal Hossain, JSD leader ASM Abdur Rab and Nagorik Oikya Convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna are gradually becoming isolated.
These three top leaders of Oikyafront feel that they would not be able to win the poll from their respective constituencies as local BNP leaders and activists will not extend their all out support and cast votes in favour of them, the insiders said.
BNP high commands consider that Mahmudur Rahman Manna does not have any constituency so giving him any seats would be a total loss.
As a result, deep frustration is running high among the BNP’s alliance key leaders. They cannot decide whether they will continue with the alliance or with their party and contest the national poll as well.
There was a rumor that Dr. Kamal Hossain and his daughter Barrister Sarah Hossain would contest the polls. But, under the changed circumstances, it seems neither Dr Kamal Hossain nor his daughter Barrister Sara Hossain is going to participate in the 11th parliamentary elections.
But Kamal Hossain will remain involved in electioneering in favour of the Jatiya Oikyafront, according to sources.
However, ASM Abur Rob is going to contest the Laxmipur constituency-4. According to local BNP, it will be very tough for Rob to win from the constituency as local BNP will not cooperate with him.
Rob served as the Jatiya Sangsad Member from Lakshmipur-4 and the Minister of Shipping and later the Minister of Fisheries and Livestock during 1996-2001 of the first Sheikh Hasina Cabinet.
On the other hand, as Mahmudur Rahman Manna is going to contest from the Bogura-2 constituency, the stronghold of BNP, leaders and activists of BNP became angry and even many of them declared they would not work in favour of him (Manna)
BNP scarified nine seats for Nagorik Oikya. Those who were nominated from the Nagorik Oikya are Nagorik Oikyo convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna for Bogura-2 constituency, SM Akram for Narayanganj-5, Fazlul Haque Sarkar for Chandpur-3, Nazrul Islam for Mymensingh-2, Mobarah Hossain for Brahmanbaria-2, Rabiul Islam for Satkhira-2, Shah Mohammad Rahmatullah for Rangpur-1, Mofakkharul Islam Nabab for Rangpur-5, M Nurur Rahman for Barisal-4.
According to party insiders, these nine candidates do not have popularity and acceptability among their respective constituencies’ people.
Therefore, it remains to be seen how Jatiya Oikyafront and its creator Dr. Kamal Hossain will control the members who seem to be working separately and independently. If he distances himself further, will his alliance survive till 30 December?