BangladeshPost placeholder

Chandpur Correspondent
Two heavyweight candidates, disaster management and relief minister Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury Maya and lawmaker Shamsul Haque Bhuiyan, were dropped from the final list of Awami League (AL) nominees for 11th national polls scheduled December 30.
Maya was an aspirant from Chandpur-2 (Matlab North-Matlab South) constituency while Bhuiyan wanted to vie from Chandpur-4.
Nurul Amin Khan Ruhul, Vice President of Dhaka City’s South Awami League got nomination in Chandpur-2 and Journalist Mohammad Shafiqur Rahman received nomination for the Chandpur-4 seat.
On Friday, Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader made the announcement.
Earlier the two heavyweight candidates of the Grand Alliance got validation from the returning office.
Meanwhile, the final list of the grand alliance candidates in the five seats in Chandpur has been announced.
The final candidates are – Chandpur-1 (Kachua) – Mohiuddin Khan Alamgir, Chandpur-2 ( Matlab North-Matlab South) – Nurul Amin Khan Ruhul, Chandpur-3 (Chandpur Sadar-Haimchar) – Dr. Dipu Moni, Chandpur-4- Mohammad Shafiqur Rahman and Chandpur-5 (Hajiganj-Shaharasthi)) – Major (Retd.) Rafiqul Islam Bir Uttam.