BangladeshPost placeholder

Staff Correspondent
The Election Commission will use electronic voting machines (EVMs) at six parliamentary constituencies–Dhaka-13, Dhaka-6, Chattogram-9, Rangpur-3, Khulna-2 and Satkhira-2–in the upcoming parliamentary polls slated for December 30.
The commission has chosen these six parliamentary constituencies out of 48 through an open lottery in presence of journalists at Nirbachan Bhaban in the city’s Agargoan area.
EC secretary Helaluddin Ahmed said they have decided to use EVMs fully in these constituencies on experimental basis, following the successful use of EVMs in a number of local body polls.
Now around 3,000 EVMs have been reserved at the commission for using in the polls. In the last couple of local government polls, the commission used new EVMs successfully.
Earlier, the EC said that it was using EVMs in the local body polls experimentally. The country’s two major political parties—Awami League and BNP—are at loggerheads over the use of EVMs in upcoming parliamentary polls.
The EC used EVMs at a ward in Chittagong City Corporation polls in 2010. Then the commission used EVMs at some wards at Narayanganj City Corporation, Narsingdi municipal polls and all centres in Cumilla city polls.
The previous commission led by Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad, used EVMs partially at Rajshahi and Rangpur city polls.