Promila Kanya
Any change, be it small or profound, does not happen overnight and with this conclusion the dialogue between Jukta Front and the 14-party alliance ended yesterday. Even if all the parties were not too content with its outcome, it is certainly too soon to say that nothing significant will happen. Certainly, the government which has built-up and developed over ten years should not be expected to create miracles over one dialogue. For most however, the dialogue was a very optimistic way to resolve conflicts and open new doors of conversation, keeping in mind only the national interest.
The result of the dialogue has helped the mass get an idea of what is happening between the major political parties of the country. Moreover, instead of inflicting violence, being disrespectful or simple concealing their ideas, leaders and politicians of the opposition are finally shedding light on important electoral decisions and expressing their requests.
The result of the dialogue has been deemed as fruitful by Chairman of Jukta Front Dr A Q M Badruddoza Chowdhury who has expressed satisfaction and willingness to take part in the upcoming election under the present government. He said that most of the 7-point demands set on the table by Jukta Front were agreed upon, such as level playing field for all, the use of EVM, all electoral officials and employees to be monitored by the Election Commission (EC) etc. On the other hand, Dr Kamal Hossain’s Jatiya Oikya Front is still looking for more areas of discussion.
The Prime Minister has said that Awami League is open to further dialogues and the door is always open for healthy debates. She also pointed out that while certain demands can be met, the others cannot be worked upon due to constitutional and legal bars and that the army can also play a significant role as the striking force during the election.

Situations in B’baria – 6

Mafukur Rahman Jackey, Brahmanbaria

The political atmosphere in Brahmanbaria-6 constituency is heating up in the run-up to the 11th parliamentary elections.
In the constituency comprising Bancharampur upazila, four Awami League candidates and two candidates of the BNP are heard to be in the race for nomination.
The electoral seat was won by either Awami League or BNP in the elections held from 1991 to 2014. This year as well, the fight is expected to be mainly between the two.
The four nomination aspirants from Bangladesh Awami League are Captain AB Tajul Islam, Golam Mustafa Kamal, Mohiuddin Ahmed Mohi, and Sayeed Ahmed Babu, while from BNP Abdul Khalek and Mehdi Hassan Palash are aspiring for party nomination.
Brahmanbaria-6 seat is of 13 unions and 1 municipality in Bancharampur upazila of Brahmanbaria district. Activists of parties, including Awami League, BNP and eleven members of the Jatiya Sangsad have started the race. The number of voters in Bancharampur upazila is about two lakh 17 thousand.
Brahmanbaria-6 constituency got Awami League candidates in the first two elections, and in the present parliament, elected uncontested because there was no other candidate from the same party. Some are running social media campaigns. In this constituency, current parliament member Captain (retd) AB Tajul Islam will be campaigning in the area.
Golam Mostafa Kamal is currently serving as Vice President of Bachcharmapur Upazila Awami League. He has been working on the sad situation of the people of Bancharampur Upazila for a long time. He is helping the mosques, madrasas, temples, schools, colleges, and other institutions. Golam Mustafa said, ‘I personally played a unique role in economic and social development of Bancharampur upazila. I have been working at the grassroots for 44 years to strengthen the hands of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. Golam Mostafa Kamal’s popularity and the demand of the common people are found with the Bancharampur people.’
Expectation is more than everyone. Golam Mostafa Kamal is currently serving as the member of the Central Awami League cultural sub-council. He is hoping to be nominated for the upcoming Jatiya Sangsad elections from Bancharampur upazila of Brahmanbaria-6 constituency.
Mohiuddin Ahmed Mohi is presently serving as Joint Secretary of Bangladesh Jubo League. He is also going to Bancharampur and hopes to be nominated for the seat. Saeed Ahmed Babu also hopes for parliamentary election nomination.
Abdul Khalek from BNP was a Member of Parliament in Brahmanbaria-6 (Bancharampur) constituency in the past. He hopes to be nominated for the upcoming national elections.
Mehedi Hassan Palash has been going house to house in Bancharampur Upazila since long to get support of the general public. He is also expected to be nominated for the seat.