BP Report
The pro-Awami League blue panel in the Dhaka University Teachers Association election bagged 14 out of 15 executive committee posts sweeping the pro-Bangladesh Nationalist Party-Jamaat-e-Islami backed white panel.
Blue panel’s Earth and Environmental Sciences Faculty Professor Maksud Kamal has been re-elected as president for the third consecutive term and Business Studies Faculty’s Dean Professor Shibli Rubayat Ul Islam as general secretary respectively.
Computer Science and Engineering Department Professor Hasanuzzaman was elected lone executive committee member in the polls from pro-BNP-Jamaat white panel.
DUTA election commissioner Chemistry Department Professor Tofail Ahmad Chowdury announced the results in the afternoon at the university’s teachers club.
The voting was held from 10 am to 2 pm on Tuesday.
Maksud Kamal bagged 1036 votes while his white panel rival Akhter Hossain Khan got 453 votes while Shibli Rubayat Ul Islam bagged 805 votes and his rival from white panel Luthfor Rahman bagged 689 votes.
In the polls, 1,551 out of 1,988 teachers cast their votes.
The other winners are vice-president Imdadul Huq, treasure Mamatajuddin Ahmed, joint-secretary Tazin Aziz Chowdhury and members are Chandranath Poddar, Zeenat Huda, Nisar Hossain, Aftab Ali Seikh, Ziaur rahman, Nizamul Huq Bhuiyan, Sadeka Halim, Sabita Rizwana Rahman and Soumitra Sekhar.