There is no democracy in BNP: Quader

Ruling out the BNP’s allegation that the country is heading towards a dynastic politics, Awami League General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader on Sunday said there is no democracy in the BNP but it is prevailing in the ruling party, reports BSS. ‘As there is no democracy in BNP, it could not hold its councils in time… Even if BNP calls a meeting, it becomes a flop,’ he told reporters before joining a feast and reunion function of AL’s 21st national council at Ramna Restaurant here.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir yesterday alleged that Awami League is going to establish a ‘political dynasty’ in Bangladesh.
Coming down heavily on Fakhrul for his remarks, Quader said: ‘Where did Begum Khaleda Zia and Tareq Rahman come from? I want to know which family they belong to. Begum Zia and her son are all in all in BNP, while Mirza Fakhrul Islam is working as a yes man.’ There is no existence of the BNP’s committees at zila, upazila, union and ward levels and nobody knows when the committees were formed, he said, adding so the word ‘democracy’ upon the lips of BNP leaders does not seem fair. The AL general secretary said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, the daughter of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, became the AL president due to her competency.

He said she (Sheikh Hasina) has proved that she is now the captain of the country’s struggle, while Bangladesh has already taken a place in international arena through development activities carried out under her dynamic leadership. Sheikh Hasina is the architect of Bangladesh’s development, Quader added.

About the upcoming city polls, he said BNP has sensed their defeat in the Dhaka city polls. ‘They (BNP) failed to create a movement. And how will they win the city polls. They know they will be defeated in the city elections,’ the AL general secretary said.

AL organising secretaries Ahmed Hossain and Mirza Azam, its cultural affairs secretary Ashim Kumar Ukil, publicity and publication secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap, health affairs secretary Dr Rokeya Sultana, agriculture and cooperatives affairs secretary Faridunnahar Laily, office secretary Barrister Biplab Barua and central committee member Advocate Riazul Kabir Kawsar were, among others, present.