All Section, City

TESOL Society opens its EAP/ESP SIG

Published : 02 Jul 2021 09:09 PM | Updated : 08 Jul 2021 09:43 PM

TESOL Society of Bangladesh (TESOL BD) has successfully organized the inaugural ceremony of its Special Interest Group called TESOL BD EAP/ESP SIG on Thursday.  TESOL BD EAP/ESP SIG is dedicated to create the biggest community of EAP and ESP practitioners in Bangladesh. The EAP/ESP SIG aspires to create a network of the EAP/ESP practitioners where they can collaborate in research, practice and development. 

Dr Manjet Kaur Mehar Singh, Associate Professor and Deputy Dean of Research, Innovation and Industry Community Engagement at the School of Languages, Literacy & Translation, University Sains Malaysia, graced the programme as the Chief Guest.  

Her talk focused on English language education in general, its various communicative functions such as for general, specific, academic, occupational /professional purposes in higher education and then, moved on to specific case study of English language education at two higher education institutions in Malaysia. 

Professor AMM Hamidur Rahman, Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Daffodil International University and the special guest of the event deliberated on the past, present and future of EAP and ESP in the context of Bangladesh.

Hamidul Haque, Vice President of TESOL Society of Bangladesh and Assistant Professor and Head of English, American International University- Bangladesh, delivered the welcome speech and inaugurated the SIG. Next, Dr Liza Sharmin, Convenor, TESOL BD EAP/ESP SIG, and Associate Professor and Head, Department of English, Daffodil International University, introduced the SIG and its mission. 

The co-convener of TESOL BD EAP/ESP SIG Dr Faheem Hasan Shahed, Associate Professor and Coordinator of MA in TESOL Programme at Brac Institute of Languages in Brac University highlighted the challenges and prospect of EAP in Bangladesh and the Role of this particular SIG in the development of EAP/ESP practitioners. The Vote of Thanks was conveyed by Dr Liza Sharmin.