PM opens seven power plants today

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will formally inaugurate seven power plants today (Wednesday) to bring 23 more upazilas across the country under cent percent electrification coverage, reports BSS.
The Prime Minister will formally inaugurate the seven power plants through videoconferencing from her official Ganabhaban residence at 10 am tomorrow, according to Bangladesh Power Development Board (BPDB). BPDB Director (Public Relations) Saiful Hasan Chowdhury told BSS here today that the seven power plants are: Anwara 300 MW Power Plant, Rangpur 113 MW Power Plant, Karnaphuli 110 MW Power Plant, Shikalbaha 105 MW Power Plant, Patia 54 MW Power Plant, Tetulia 8 MW Solar Power Plant and Gazipur 100 MW Power Plant. He said the government is moving fast to reach the goal of 24,000 MW power generation capacity by 2021.
According to Bangladesh Rural Electrification Board (BREB), the 23 upazilas which will come under cent percent electricity coverage are: Gabtali, Sherpur and Shibganj in Bogura district, Lohagara in Chattogram, Madhukhali, Nagarkanda and Saltha in Faridpur district, Fulchhari, Gaibandha Sadar and Palashbari in Gaibandha district, Madhappur and Nabiganj in Habiganj district, Kaliganj and Maheshpur in Jhenaidah district, Karimganj under Kishoreganj, Baraigram, Lalpur and Singra under Natore district, Barhatta and Mahonganj in Netrakona district, Bhandaria, Kaukhali and Indurkani under Pirojpur district.
Among others, State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid and officials concerned will be present at the inaugural ceremony at Ganabhaban.