Nirmal, Babu Swechchhasebok League’s new president, GS

Nirmal Ranjan Guha and Afzalur Rahman Babu have been made the new president and general secretary of Bangladesh Swechchhasebok League, the associate volunteers' body of the ruling Awami League, respectively.

Both of them were the vice-presidents of the previous committee of the organisation. Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader on Saturday announced the names of the newly selected leaders after the national council of the organisation. The council was inaugurated by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, who is also the President of Bangladesh Awami League. The new president and general secretary will form a fully fledged committee within the next seven days, said Quader.

In his immediate reaction, newly selected president Nirmal Ranjan Guha said, “The Swechchhasebok League will play a pioneering role in strengthening the party’s leadership and making its programmes a success.”

"I’ll perform my responsibilities with sincerity given by the honourable prime minister and strengthen the organisation across the country."

Newly selected general secretary Afzalur Rahman Babu said, he will perform his duties honestly and sincerely as the AL president and prime minister has given him the post.

It should be mentioned that the ruling Awami League is holding the council of different of its front organisations. The council of the AL also will be held in the month of December. 

Read More: Montu, Khasru Sramik League’s new president, GS