Lawmakers Shahjahan, Sattar die

Published : 30 Sep 2023 10:17 PM

Two members of Bangladesh Parliament AKM Shajahan Kamal and Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan died on Saturday (September 30, 2023) at the old-age complications. 

The first namaz-e-janaza of the two lawmakers was held in front of on the premises of Parliament Bhaban in the capital on Saturday morning. 

An Awami League delegation led by General Secretary Obaidul Quader paid respects to the two late MPs after their namaz-e-janaza. 

Awami League Advisory Council Member Tofail Ahmed, Presidium Member Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Dr Abdur Razzaque, Awami League Organising Secretary Afzal Hossain, Office Secretary Barrister Biplab Barua, Deputy Office  Secretary Sayem Khan, Awami League Organizing Secretary Sujit Roy Nandi, Awami League Agriculture and Cooperative Affairs Secretary Faridur Nahar Laili and others, were also present. 

AKM Shajahan Kamal, the lawmaker representing Lakshmipur-3 and former Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister, died on Saturday morning. He was 84. He breathed his last while undergoing treatment at Evercare Hospital in the capital.

Professor ASM Maksud Kamal, younger brother of the deceased and pro vice chancellor (academic) of Dhaka University, said that his elder brother breathed his last while undergoing treatment at Evercare Hospital in Dhaka around 3:30 am.

He was laid to rest at the family graveyard after a second Namaz-eJanaza followed by Asr prayer at Laharkandi union in Sadar upazila of Lakshmipur.

Shajahan Kamal was elected MP from Lakshmipur-3 in 1973, 2014 and 2018.

Meanwhile, MP from Brahmanbaria-2 (Sarail-Ashuganj) constituency Abdus Sattar Bhuiya passed away at 84. The five-time MP breathed his last at 3:00 am while undergoing treatment at the capital’s Evercare Hospital, said his son Mainul Hasan Tushar.

He had been suffering from kidney disease for long and was admitted to the hospital a week back when his condition worsened.

The estranged BNP leader, who served as the state minister for Law, Fisheries, and Land ministries under the four-party coalition government after 2001 election, was be buried at the family graveyard in Sarail upazila.

He was born on January 16, 1939 at Parmanandpur village under Aruail Union of the Sarail upazila. He served as the president of the Brahmanbaria district BNP for a long time.

Abdus Sattar was last elected from Brahmanbaria-2 (Sarail-Ashuganj) constituency as an independent candidate in February this year.

In 1979, he was elected as an independent candidate from Comilla-1 constituency and later from Brahmanbaria-2 constituency in the 1991 and 1996 elections with BNP nomination.

After the 2001 election, Sattar served as technocrat state minister for Law, Fisheries, and Land ministries under the 4-party coalition government.

He was also elected MP in the 2018 election with BNP ticket.

The veteran politician resigned from MP post for Brahmanbaria-2 constituency in line with the party’s decision last year. He also resigned from all posts of BNP including that of BNP chairperon’s adviser.

Later, Sattar contested the by-election as an independent candidate amid nationwide discussion and won the election held on February 1.