DU VC elected ACU Council member

Dhaka University (DU) Vice-Chancellor (VC) Professor Dr Md Akhtaruzzaman was elected Council Member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU). UK based ACU made this announcement on Monday, said a DU press release today. Five more renowned academics of the world were also elected Council Member of ACU. They are – Prof Sampath Amaratunge of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura of Sri Lanka, Prof Amanda Broderick of the University of East London of UK, Prof Franco Gandolfi ofthe ManipalInternational University of Malaysia, Dr Rhonda L Lenton of the York University of Canada and Prof Mamokgethi Phakeng of the University of Cape Town of South Africa. President and Principal of Kings College London

Prof Edward Byrne AC and Vice-

Chancellor of Durham University of UK Prof Stuart Corbridge were elected new Chair and Honorary Treasurer of the ACU respectively.