Don’t indulge in negligence; Mannan directs PDs

Planning Minister MA Mannan on Sunday asked the project directors under Chattogram Division not to waste time or to make any negligence while implementing their respective projects, reports BSS.

“You’ll have to implement the projects within the stipulated timeframe maintaining due standard,” he said while addressing a meeting as chief guest at the circuit house to review the projects under the Annual Development Programme (ADP) of the current fiscal year under Chattogram Division.

Mannan also said that ‘zero’ progressed projects are weak projects and it is also not a matter of pride to become a project director of a weak project. Putting emphasis again on timely completion of the development schemes, he said it is also not acceptable to complete the projects at the eleventh hour compromising with quality. “You’ll have to find out ways to come out of the trend of delay in project works.”

He also extended thanks to those project directors who are working to implement their projects efficiently. Noting that it is unexpected that a project director would not remain in his or her respective project sites, the Planning Minister directed that one project director could not remain in charge of two projects at a time or could not be transferred during the project implementation.

The meeting was informed that there are some 193 projects in Chattogram Division under the ADP of the current fiscal year involving an overall cost of Taka 12,807 crore which is 10.15 percent of the overall ADP allocation. Out of those, the meeting reviewed the progress of a total of 104 projects of which the status of 61 projects is comparatively well progressed, 12 are zero progressed projects, and 31 are slow progressed projects. The executing agencies could spend Taka 1,657.71 crore till August of the current fiscal year which is also 7.58 percent of the overall ADP allocation.

Former Housing and Public Works Minister Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Parliamentary Standing Committee Chairman on Railways Ministry ABM Fazle Karim Chowdhury, whip Shamsul Haque Chowdhury, Wasika Ayesha Khan, MP, IMED Secretary Abul Mansur Md Faizullah, additional divisional commissioner Shankar Ranjan Saha and concerned project directors were present.