National, Back Page

Bangladesh to host D-8 council of ministers’ 20th session on July 27

Published : 03 Jul 2022 10:04 PM

Bangladesh will host the 20th session of the Council of Ministers of D-8, also known as Developing-8, on 27 July.

The country already invited the foreign ministers of D-8 members.

Foreign Minister Dr AK Abdul Momen said he had another chance to request during his recent visit to Kigali, the capital of Rwanda.

While talking to reporters at his office on Sunday evening, Momen said some countries are yet to confirm their participation while few countries have already confirmed.

He said he had a discussion with the Nigerian President and his Malaysian counterpart during his stay in Kigali.

Momen also said Indonesia and Pakistan are yet to confirm while Turkey’s participation has been confirmed. D-8 is an organisation for development cooperation among Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.

Bangladesh will also host the 45th session of the D-8 Commission from 25 to 26 July.

The establishment of D-8 was announced officially through the Istanbul Declaration of Summit of Heads of State or Government on 15 June, 1997. It is a global arrangement rather than a regional one, as the composition of its members reflects.