Sports, Cricket

Bangladesh's CWAB gets no change despite causing stir

Published : 21 May 2023 08:52 PM

During the players' strike in 2019, the Cricket Welfare Association of Bangladesh (CWAB) hogged all the attention as the cricketers demanded its abolition for their inactivity as an organization.

Four years later those cricketers had the chance to go for a new committee by going for an election during the Annual General Meeting of the organization but instead, that same committee got a clean chit from the same group of cricketers who included CWAB reform in their 13-point demand in order to change Bangladesh cricket.

Former national skipper Naimur Rahman remains at the helm of CWAB as he was elected president unopposed on Saturday as no election took place during the AGM after none of the former or current cricketers expressed their willingness to fight for the top two posts.

Debabrata Paul was re-elected unopposed general secretary for the next four years.

"We informed the players earlier that if they are interested to go for an election they are most welcome but they need to convey their desire in the AGM but everyone has seen that that none was interested," Debabrata told Cricbuzz on Saturday.

"This is not the first time we have asked them to come forward and take up the leadership role

"We were prepared to hold an election as we had a booth ready with the ballot box and everything in place but eventually none were interested and this is not the first time we asked them to come forward and take the lead of the organization as they were very vocal in 2019 during the players' movement but when we tried to sit with them to know their mind on how to take the organization going forward and what they want they never showed any interest," he said.

The last time the organization, which was formed in 2004, held its AGM was back in the 2014-2015 season. However, star cricketers like Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah didn't attend the program for varied reasons though they were the ones who were against the organization during the players' movement.

There was speculation during the programme that former national skipper Mashrafe bin Mortaza might decide to fight for the top post during the AGM but it didn't happen in the end.

"I would be happy if someone new came. They can tell better why they didn't come. The door was open. I still want to give the responsibility if someone expresses his interest," Naimur said after being declared president for the next term.

Among the former cricketers, Rouqibul Hasan, Akram Khan, Habibul Bashar, Minhajul Abedin, Athar Ali Khan and Javed Omar were present on the occasion while Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nigar Sultana Joty, Salma Khatun represented among the current players.

BCB president Nazmul Hassan attended the program as the chief guest and said that he expected more good works from CWAB in the coming years.

"I'm very delighted to see such amount of cricketers for the first time together. CWAB is the only cricketers' organization that is approved by the BCB. I hope to see a lot of good works from them in the future as well," Nazmul said.