9 ‘Allahr Dal’ militants arrested in Sylhet

The Counter Terrorism and Transnational Crime (CTTC) unit arrested nine suspected members of the banned militant group ‘Allahr Dal’ from a house at Arambagh in the city on Wednesday night.

The arrestees were identified as - Maneek Akanda alias Mehedi Hassan, 32, of Bogura district, Jahir Uddin Babar, 20, of Noakhali district, Abul Kalaam Azad, 20, of Cumilla district, Tomy Uddin Suman, 30, of Sunamganj district, Ashraful Islam, 29, of Rajshahi district, Rassel Ahammed, 24, Kamal Ahmad, 25, Jewel Ahmed, 24 and Mohammad Swapan Ahmed of Sylhet district.

A CTTC team went to Sylhet at night acting on a tip-off and raided a house under Shah Poran Police Station with the assistance of Sylhet Metropolitan Police (SMP) at 10:30pm.

“The arrestees admitted to plotting acts of sabotage,” SMP’s Additional Commissioner Poritosh Gosh told a media briefing at the SMP headquarters on Thursday afternoon. He said the men will be taken to Dhaka for further interrogation.