BangladeshPost placeholder

The five-day ‘Police Week-2019’ will begin across the country today.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to inaugurate the programme at Rajarbagh Police Lines in the capital, reports BSS.
The premier will hand over awards, in four categories, to 349 police and Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) personnel, for their outstanding performance, bravery, combating crime, cracking important cases, efficiency, honesty and discipline, on the first day of the Police Week-2019.
President Md Abdul Hamid and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, in separate messages, greeted all members of Bangladesh Police on the occasion of the police week.
In his message, the President expressed his hope that every member of Bangladesh Police would discharge duties with patriotism, discipline, sincerity and professional skills to help the people get services.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, in her message, called upon members of Bangladesh Police to continue their sincere efforts to establish rule of law, ensure safety of the people and make police system a pro-people one to provide required services to the people within the shortest possible time to attain people’s trust and confidence.
In accordance with the gazette of the Home Ministry issued on January 29, 40 policemen will get Bangladesh Police Medal (BPM-gallantry) while 62 President Police Medal (PPM-gallantry), 104 Bangladesh Police Medal (BPM-Service) and 143 President Police Medal (PPM-Service) awards for their bravery and courage in their services in the last one year.
RAB Director General Benazir Ahmed, Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) Commissioner Asaduzzaman Mia, DMP Additional Commissioner and CTTC chief Monirul Islam, DIG at the Police Headquarters Anwar Hossain, RAB Additional DGs Col Anwar Latif Khan, Col Md Jahangir Alam, Chief of Special Branch Mir Shahidul Islam, Additional IGPs Mainur Rahman Chowdhury, Iqbal Bahar, Deputy Inspector General Habibur Rahman and Deputy Commissioner of CTTC Proloy Kumar Joarder, have been selected for the awards this year.
Besides, Inspector Jalal Uddin and Constable Shamim Mia are going to get awards of BPM posthumously as they were killed while in service.
Each of the BPM awardees will get an allowance of Taka 1 lakh once and Taka 1,500 per month while each of the awardees of BPM-service will be given Taka 75,000 once and Taka 1,000 monthly.
However, each of the PPM awardees will get an allowance of Taka 75,000 once and Taka 1,500 monthly while each of the PPM-service awardees will get Taka 50,000 once and Taka 1,000 monthly.
The awardees will continue to get the monthly allowance during his or her service period and even during pension.