Staff Correspondent

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will inaugurate cent percent electricity coverage of 102 upazilas from her official residence Ganobhaban through video-conferencing today.

She will also inaugurate seven power plants and the jet oil pipeline from Pitolgonj of Narayanganj to Kurmitola in Dhaka, said Power Division officials.

To this end, a press conference was held on Wednesday at Bidyut Bhaban in the capital.

State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources, Nasrul Hamid, said at the press conference the power generation capacity has increased 4 times over the past 10 years. Now, the country’s power generation capacity has reached 20,430 MW.

He also said, currently 55 power plants are under construction, with a total electricity generation capacity at 13,654 MW. Besides, 23 more power plants with the capacity of 7,461 MW are under tender processing. Construction of 19 more power plants with the capacity of 20,156 MW is also planned.

Among others, Prime Minister’s Energy Advisor Dr. Tawfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury, Power Secretary Dr Ahmad Kaikaus, and Energy Secretary Abu Hena Mohammad Rahmatul Muneem also attended the press conference.

With the aim of providing electricity facility to all the people of the country by 2021, the government will bring 102 more upazilas under cent per cent electricity coverage.

The upazilas which will be brought under 100 percent electricity coverage are: 5 upazilas of Dhaka, Kishoreganj- 6 upazilas, Sreemangal of Moulvibazar, Natore-3 upazilas, Rajshahi-4 upazilas, Chitalmari of Bagerhat, Jashore-3 upazilas, Chuadanga-2 upazilas, Pirojpur Sadar, Manikganj-3 upazilas, Naogaon-4 upazilas, Pabna Sadar, Jhalokati- 2 upazilas, Sylhet- 4 upazilas, Dumuria of Khulna, Feni Sadar, Kushtia Sadar, Ramganj of Laxmipur, Dinajpur-2 upazilas, Chattogram- 4 upazilas, Brahmanbaria- 3 upazilas, Kumilla-11 upazilas, Noakhali- 2 upazilas, Rangpur- 2 upazilas, Sunamgonj south, Tala of Satkhira, Cox’s Bazar- 2 upazilas, Gangni of Meherpur, Bhola-2 upazilas, Sirajganj-4 upazilas, Netrokona-2 upazilas, Madaripur and Nilphamari sadar, Gazipur- 2 upazilas, Shariatpur-3 upazilas, Chandpur-3 upazilas, Sonargaon of Narayanganj, Bogura- 7 upazilas, Faridpur-2 upazilas, Magura- 2 upazilas.

Apart from this, the Prime Minister will inaugurate 275 MW Barapukuria coal-fired power plant, 100 MW each Keraniganj Bramangao and Awarahat power plants, 149MW Gazipur power plant, 300MW Pangaon power plant, 225MW Sirajganj power plant and 20 MW Teknaf power plant. Most of the plants have started commercial operation.

A Bangladesh Rural Electrification Board official said, a total of 60, 48,399 connections have been provided by setting up 98,997 kilometres of lines at the 102 upazilas under 40 districts, where a total of Tk 14,690.96 crore has been spent for the overall work.