More than 15 hours after polling ended on Wednesday, the country is still awaiting final results from the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP). While massive delays and allegations of rigging cast a shadow over the vote counting process, preliminary results indicated that Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) had obtained a clear edge over other parties, reports DAWN.

PTV News so far, quoting ECP, has released the final results of 26 National Assembly constituencies, according to which PTI is in the lead with its candidates winning 18 seats; PML-N has secured 4 seats; PPPP 2, and Muttahida Majlis–e–Amal (MMA) 1. An independent candidate, Syed Fakhar Imam, won NA-150.

  • PTI’s Asad Umar wins NA-54 (Islamabad-III) with 56,945 votes; PML-N’s Anjum Aqeel runner up with 32,991 votes.
  • PML-N’s Muhammad Hamza Shahbaz Sharif wins NA-124 (Lahore-II) with 146,294 votes; PTI’s Muhammad Nauman Qaiser runner up with 80,981 votes.
  • PTI’s Shafqat Mahmood wins NA-130 (Lahore-VIII) with 127,405 votes; PML-N’s Khawaja Ahmad Hasan runner up with 104,625 votes.
  • Although PTI workers and supporters started celebrations before the final results, no statement — or even a tweet — has been issued by Imran Khan on his victory. His spokesperson Naeemul Haque, however, tweeted that the PTI chief will “address the nation” today at 2pm “in celebration and recognition of the massive support received from the people of Pakistan in the 2018 elections which was a contest between the forces of good and evil”.
  • On Thursday morning, the first session of the Pakistan Stock Exchange following the elections saw tremendous activity, with the bourse’s benchmark 100 index jumping more than 600 points within the first half an hour.
  • According to AFP, Gallup Pakistan estimated voter turnout at between 50 to 55 per cent in an electorate of nearly 106 million — similar to the previous contest in 2013.

Based on reporting of 47 per cent of polling stations, PTI is leading on 114 National Assembly seats, while the PML-N trails behind with 64 and the PPP-Parliamentarians (PPP-P) is at third spot with 42 seats.

In Punjab, with preliminary results from 50pc polling stations available with ECP, PML-N is currently holding its lead on 129 provincial seats but PTI is closing in with a lead on 122 seats.

Meanwhile, PTI is clearly steering ahead in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa with a lead on 64 seats against Muttahida Majlis–e–Amal (MMA), which is currently leading on 12 seats, as per reporting from 35pc polling stations in the province.

The preliminary results from 37pc polling stations in Sindh show PPP-P leading on 75 seats, followed by PTI on 22 seats.

In Balochistan, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) is leading on 12 provincial seats, followed by Balochistan National Party (BNP) on 9 seats, based on unofficial results from 35pc polling stations.

According to Geo News, Awami National Party leader Ghulam Ahmed Bilour conceded defeat to PTI’s Shaukat Ali, his competitor on Peshawar’s NA-31 seat, saying: “The results indicate that Imran Khan is a favourite leader of the people of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. I am a democratic person and I admit the defeat.”

Counting is still going on at the polling stations of different constituencies.