BangladeshPost placeholder

Staff Correspondent
Outgoing ministers have appreciated the newly-formed Cabinet saying Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina rearranged the cabinet with her sharp wit to accelerate the country’s development.
They hoped the new cabinet will be more enthusiastic as there are some new and young faces in it. A total of 36 ministers, including several heavyweights of the outgoing cabinet, have failed to secure berths in the new cabinet.

Tofail Ahmed, one of them and also commerce minister in the last cabinet, on Monday said the cabinet is a ‘stage’ for going and coming.

“Here is a rule where some leave and some enter,” he said in his farewell address in the conference room of the ministry.

On the occasion, Tofail Ahmed welcomed the members of the new cabinet and hoped their success.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina rearranged the cabinet with her sharp wit, he said adding, those who are made ministers this time are eligible and tested leaders.

The newly-formed cabinet will be more enthusiastic, he hoped. Besides, there is no minister from the opposite party like in the outgoing cabinet, he added.

Tofail Ahmed, however, said Bangladesh entered a golden period through Awami League’s victory in the 11th parliamentary election on December 30, 2018.

“I was commerce minister for the last 9 years, a record, as there is no one who served the ministry for such a long time,” he said.

Bangladesh will be a prestigious country within the next 5 years under the leadership Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, he hoped.

Of the total members who lost office, are 25 ministers, 9 state ministers and 2 deputy ministers.

Besides Tofail Ahmed, there are some heavyweight ministers who lost chairs. They are—Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith, Industries Minister Amir Hossain Amu, Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury, Health Minister Mohammed Nasim, LGRD Minister Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Expatriates’ Welfare Minister Nurul Islam, Social Welfare Minister Rashed Khan Menon, Housing and Public Works Minister Eng Mosharraf Hossain, Textiles and Jute Minister Emaz Uddin Pramanik, and Education Minister Nurul Islam Nahid.

Among others, Public Administration Minister Syed Ashraful Islam died on Thursday, and Finance Minister AMA Muhith did not contest the December 30 polls.

Muhith in his farewell speech said, he had served a ‘complicated’ ministry like the Ministry of Finance for the last 10 years successfully ignoring his age, already 85.
“I was not removed. Going into retirement is my will. It is great dignity and fortune for me,” he said in the ministry on Monday.
Replying to a question of journalists, Muhith said that he would spend his retired life reading books and writing.
He, however, expressed hope over the country’s development in a magical way and said that no one can make Bangladesh lag in the next five years.

Meanwhile, Nurul Islam Nahid on his last working day in the ministry expressed gratitude to Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and his colleagues in the ministry.
“It goes to you (ministry officials) what are considered my credits. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina gave me lot of responsibilities and helped in the achievements,” he said.
He said a great change has come in the education system in the last ten years.
Students’ enrollment in educational institutions rose in a magical way. Besides, gender equality in secondary education is achieved, said the outgoing education minister.
Nahid hoped the newly-appointed education minister Dr Dipu Moni can serve the ministry with her creativity and enthusiasm.

The list of ministers out of the new cabinet also includes Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu, Environment Minister Anisul Islam Mahmud, Water Resources Minister Anwar Hossain, Education Minister Nurul Islam Nahid, Shipping Minister Shajahan Khan, Disaster Management Minister Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury, Foreign Minister Abul Hassan Mahmood Ali, Rail Minister Mazibul Hoque, Primary and Mass Education Minister Mostafizur Rahman, Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor, Land Minister Shamsur Rahman Sherif, Food Minister Kamrul Islam, Fisheries and Livestock Minister Narayan Chandra Chanda, Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister Shahjahan Kamal, and Religious Affairs Minister Matiur Rahman.
Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury (Maya), who was in charge of Ministry of Disaster Management and Relief, did not get party nomination in the December 30 polls.

Monday was the last day of the outgoing cabinet. All the ministers, not in the new cabinet, welcomed the new members and hoped their success.
Besides, on the occasion they recalled their colleague and veteran leader Syed Ashraf, who had passed away recently.
The Cabinet Division on Sunday unveiled the names of ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers of the 47-member cabinet headed by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. The new cabinet members are supposed to take office from today (Tuesday).