Mahadi Hasan Badhon
About 20 candidates from different political parties are vying for party nominations in the Tangail-6 constituency, constituting Nagarpur and Delduar upazila, for the upcoming national elections.
10 from Awami League (AL), five from Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and some others from Jatiya Party (JP) and Tarikat Federation are trying hard to get their party nominations.They are conducting election campaigning through assembly, meeting, sticking posters, holding rallies and other events.
The voters are analyzing the prospective nominees to get their preferred candidates. Intra-party competition is going on for nomination from the Awami League in this constituency. That is why ground level leaders and workers are also divided according to their respective leader.
The constituency-135 of the National Parliament [Tangail-6]was known as the BNP’s fort, but now the Awami League occupies this field. After independence, Awami League could not win from this seat except in 1973, 2009 and 2014. On the other hand, BNP has won five times, the Jatiya Party once, and the independent candidate once, from this constituency.
Awami League candidate Khandker Abdul Baten was elected MP in the Ninth National Parliament election, BNP could not be elected due to conflict.

The allegation of avoiding the Awami League activists has been taken care of since the current MP was elected. Many leaders of Delduar and Nagarpur Upazila Awami League said that the current MP did not involve them in the developmental activities of the government. He wants nomination from Awami League in the next election.

Upazila Awami League President Zakirul Islam William is trying hard to win the minds of the people by organizing meetings and assemblies to get the nomination from this constituency. He has a clean image in Nagarpur and Delduar upazila.

Zakirul Islam said, “My goal is to strengthen the hands of Bangabandhu’s daughter. I want to conduct various development works in Nagarpur and Delduar Upazilla with the leaders and workers of this constituency. Under our leadership, the Boat Symbol victory will be made in this constituency in the next parliamentary elections.”

Awami League’s industrial and business affairs secretary Alhaj Ahsanul Islam Titu hoped to get Awami League’s nomination. He continuously organizes rallies, mass communication, meetings and assemblies. Besides, he has conducted various social activities for poor people in the area, coaching of meritorious students, medical expenses, treatment, school, college, mosque, madrasa grants and employment in Nagarpur and Delduar Upazila.

He said, if Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina nominates him, he will win this constituency.

The battle for nomination has added a new dimension with state minister of information Advocate Tarana Halim also trying to get the party nomination from this constituency. She also has a clean image of a true, devoted and candid speaker.

This time, Tarana Halim is continuously organizing party meetings, assembly and rally at different parts of Nagarpur and Delduar upazila. She hoped for voter support to snatch victory in the upcoming election.

In addition to this, the Awami League co-secretary of the central joint and sports sub-committee and convener of Dhaleshwari Bridge Road Implementation Sangram Parishad Tarek Shams Khan Himu is hoping to be nominated by the Awami League in the next general election. He is making mass contact in the area to get nomination from this constituency.

District Awami League’s relief and social welfare secretary Alhaj Ansaf Ali Osmani also hopes for Awami League nomination from this constituency. He is participating in various meetings and conferences.

Besides, the candidates for the Awami League nomination are Central Cooperative League Vice-President Kazi ATM Anisur Rahman Bulbul, former Bangladesh National Football Team’s former captain and District Awami League Advisory Committee member Khurshid Alam Babul, Tangail District Mujib Bahini Detective Md FazlulHaque Mallik.

Awami League leader Barrister M. Ashraful Islam is also conducting public relations in Nagarpur and Delduar for nomination from this constituency.

On the other hand, Advocate Gautam Chakraborty, convenor of the upazila BNP, hopes for the BNP nomination from this constituency in the next parliamentary elections. In 1996, Gautam Chakraborty joined the BNP as BNP candidate Khandker Abu Taher’s nomination paper was canceled for loan default.

He is trying to get nomination for the next election. He said, during the party’s agitation, I have been loyal to the movement on the streets. I would like to be nominated for the next election. If I get nomination from the party, I can do good for this constituency.

Besides, former minister and BNP leader Nur Mohammad Khan has been trying to get the party’s nomination from this seat. Nur Mohammad Khan was elected MP thrice from this constituency and served as a minister.

District BNP’s former vice-president Md. Rabiul Awal Lavlu has exchanged pleasantries with local leaders and workers for getting party nomination.

District BNP’s former executive member Md. Shariful Islam Swapan, former BNP vice-president Advocate Arfan Ali Molla, and joint convener of the upazila BNP, Advocate Iqbal Hossain Khan are expected to seek nomination, local sources said.

On the other hand, former MP Abul Kashem has been trying hard to get the nomination from the Jatiya Party (JP) from this constituency.

Besides, science and technology affairs secretary of District Committee of Tariqat Federation, Anwar Hossain Anu will want nomination from the Bangladesh Tariqat Federation.