Staff Correspondent
No new political party will get registration from the Election Commission ahead of the next parliamentary elections.
About 75 new aspirant political parties have applied to the commission for getting registration to contest in the next general elections.
EC officials said that the commission has rejected applications of 73 parties for failing to fulfill the EC’s registration conditions during scrutinising it.
The EC had taken applications in cognizance of two parties namely Bangladesh Congress and Gono Azadi League for further investigation.
Then the commission found that these two parties are not capable for getting registration. However, the commission has investigated the field level activities of these two parties but did not find any visible activities and their offices in the respective area. The EC has decided not to give registration of these two new political parties, sources said.
Earlier, the commission published circular seeking applications from new political parties on October 30 last year. Till the last date on December 31, 75 aspirant political parties applied to the EC seeking registration.
Most of the fringe political parties named–Bangladesh Islamic Party, Trinomul Bangladesh, National Democratic Party, Bangladesh Labour Party, Sharia Andolan Bangladesh, National Democratic Party, Bangladesh National Congress, Bangladesh Trinomul Congress, Bangladesh People’s Democratic Party, Bangladesh Nezami Islam Party, Aam Janata Khedmat Party, Bangladesh United Islami Party and Moulik Bangla.
According to section 90(B) of the Representation of the People Order, for registration with the EC a party must have a central committee, committees in at least 21 districts and 100 upazilas, each of which must have at least 200 members.
The electoral rule also stated that a party that secured at least one seat with its electoral symbol in any parliamentary election held since the independence of Bangladesh and or secured five percent of total votes cast in the constituencies in which its candidates took part in any of the aforesaid parliamentary elections will be eligible.
Now, 39 registered political parties are in the country. During the Army-backed caretaker government in 2008, registration with the EC was made mandatory for political parties intending to contest polls.
Before the tenth parliamentary polls, the commission gave registration to the Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF) and Bangladesh Sangskritik Muktijote.