Talha Kamal
It looks like bad times will not be ending soon for Bangladesh batsman Sabbir Rahman and Soumya Sarkar. After being left out of the national team due to disorderly behavior off the field and dismal form, Sabbir Rahman has now been removed from the icon list of the upcoming Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). Other batsman, Soumya Sarkar also suffered the same fate due to his poor form.
In the last edition of BPL, Sabbir was Sylhet Sixers and Soumya was Chittagong Vikings icons, who have decided not to take part in the upcoming edition of the tournament. Meanwhile, Sabbir, Soumya’s misery came as a delight for Mustafiz and Liton as they are now the new faces in the seven player’s icon list. However, Liton will not be representing Comilla Victorians this time. As per the rule, two icon players can’t play for the same team. Tamim is already the icon player in the Comilla Victorians roster, that’s the reason why Liton will be ineligible to play for Cumilla.
Alongside Liton, left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman will represent his old team Rajshahi Kings. This means, Mushfiqur Rahim will get a new team this time as he also plays for Rajshahi. In the last edition, Mushfiqur was Rajshahi’s icon cricketer. A close source from BPL governing council has confirmed that Rajshahi has chosen in-form Mustafiz as an ‘icon’ rather than Mushfiqur Rahim.
Earlier, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza was selected as Rangpur Riders icon player like last time, Shakib will represent Dhaka Dynamites and Mahmudullah Riyadh with Khulna Titans. In that case, Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das would be Sylhet Sixers, or, Chittagong Vikings (if they take part in the tourney) icon player. But it is still not sure, which team will they play for.