Richard Ngarava will be replaced by Christopher Mpofu in Zimbabwe’s Test squad for the two-match series against Bangladesh, reports Cricbuzz.
The left-arm seamer sustained a groin injury during the just-concluded ODI series between the two sides. Ngarava picked up the injury while bowling in the third and final ODI, in Chittagong on Friday. “Ngarava sustained a groin injury and also complained of pain in the gluteal region after our last ODI,” Zimbabwe national team physiotherapist Anesu Mupotaringa said. “Even with aggressive treatment, he will not recover in time for the Test series.”
The 20-year-old was in line to make his debut in Test cricket, but will now have to wait longer. “Ngarava is part of our plan to deliberately inject youth into the team and he has worked hard on this tour, on the sidelines, readying himself for an opportunity to play,” Zimbabwe convener of selectors, Walter Chawaguta, said. “We had plans to possibly rotate our seamers and rest those who have played all matches since the tour of South Africa and this would have presented an opportunity for Ngarava.”
Chawaguta is, however, confident that the experience Mpofu brings to the table will be a massive boost to Zimbabwe’s chances in Bangladesh. The 32-year-old seamer has played 15 Test matches since making his debut against the same opponents, in Chi­tta­gong during Zimbabwe’s 2005 tour.
“Mpofu was with the team in the build-up to South Africa and, having toured Bangladesh before, he would know how to quickly adjust to conditions here,” Chawaguta said.
“He is very experienced and would give us an opportunity to continue with our set plan of rotating our pace bowling department.”
Zimbabwe kick off the Test leg of their current tour of Bangladesh with a three-day practice match against Bangladesh A, starting Monday at Chittagong’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.
The Test series begins on November 3 in Sylhet, while the second match will be played in Dhaka from November 11-15.
Squad: Hamilton Masakadza (C), Brian Chari, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Peter Moor, Regis Chakabva, Donald Tiripano, Kyle Jarvis, Brandon Mavuta, John Nyumbu, Wellington Masakadza, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Christopher Mpofu.