Staff Correspondent

The ruling Awami League has clinched an overwhelming win in the 11th parliamentary elections over its archrival BNP-led Oikyafront.

With this massive victory, Sheikh Hasina-led Awami League is set to form the government for third straight term and fourth time in total.

Earlier, voting was held from 8.00am to 4.00pm on Sunday amid peaceful environment with a massive turnout of voters across the country.

Polling was held in the 299 constituencies of 300.

As of filing this report at 1.15am today, results of 297 constituencies were announced unofficially. Of these, AL-led Grand Alliance bagged 266 seats while BNP-led Oikyafront earned victory in just 7 constituencies. HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party bagged 22 seats and the remaining 2 have gone to others.

According to the unofficial results, Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina won the election from Gopalganj-3 constituency.

Sheikh Hasina bagged 229,539 votes while her nearest rival SM Jilani of BNP polled 123.

Awami League runner Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury was unofficially elected from Rangpur-6 by a huge margin.

She bagged 234,426 votes in all 107 polling stations of the constituency while her nearest rival Jatiya Oikyafront contender Saiful Islam polled 24,053.

Jatiya Party Chairman HM Ershad was unofficially declared elected in Rangpur-3 constituency.

Ershad bagged 142,926 votes while his nearest rival candidate Rita Rahman of Jatiya Oikyafront polled 53,089.

In Gopalganj-2, AL candidate Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim bagged 281,909 votes to defeat his nearest rival Taslim Shikdar from Islamic Andolon Bangladesh who polled 608. BNP aspirant Sirajul Islam got 286 votes in the election.

In Gopalganj-1, AL contestant M Faruk Khan defeated SD Sharfuzzaman Jahangir by a huge margin of vote. Faruk bagged 303,162 votes against 57 of Jahangir.

Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has won a landslide victory in Narail-2 constituency.

Mashrafe got 274,418 out of 284,813 votes which were cast as per the unofficial counting. His e closest contender Jatiya Oikyafront’s AZM Dr Fariduzzaman polled 8,006.

In Kishoreganj-1 constituency, Awami League aspirant Syed Ashraful Islam was unofficially elected bagging 260,973 votes against his rival candidate Rezaul Karim Khan of BNP.

Jatiya Party candidate Mujibul Hoque Chunnu came out successful bagging 239,616 votes in Kishoreganj-3 constituency while Awami League candidate Rezwan Ahmed Toufiq got 258,516 votes in Kishoreganj-4 constituency to win the election.

BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir came out successful in Bogura-6 constituency. He bagged 205,987 votes to defeat the Jatiya Party candidate who polled 39,961.

In Bogura-4, Mosharraf Hossain defeated Boat candidate securing 128,585 votes against Boat candidate’s 86,048.
In thakurgaon-3 seat, BNP’s Zahidur Rahman was elected unofficially bagging 87,165 votes against AL rebel Imdadaul Haque’s 84,109.

A total of 1,861 candidates contested the polls. Among them, 1,733 are from 39 registered political parties and 128 independents.

Of them some 272 candidates from Awami League and its alliance partners contested the polls with boat symbol while 282 candidates were from BNP with sheaf of paddy in the poll field.

Besides, 175 candidates from Jatiya Party with ‘plough’ symbol contested the polls, 298 from candidates from Islami Andolon Bangladesh and 74 candidates from Communist Party of Bangladesh were in the rare.

Apart from the political parties, some 128 independent candidates also contested the election.

A total of 10, 42, 38,677 voters, including 5, 25, 72,365 male and 5,16,66,312 female, cast their votes at 206,477 polling booths of the 40,183 voting centers in 299 constituencies across the country.