Jatiya Party Secretary General Ruhul Amin Hawlader talks to media at the party’s Banani office on Monday. Photo: BP

Staff Correspondent

Jatiya Party (JP), the largest partner of Awami League in the Grand Alliance, on Monday started distribution of its nomination letters to its candidates for the upcoming 11th parliamentary election slated for December 30.

The party’s General Secretary ABM Ruhul Amin Howlader formally started handing out the nomination letters at its office in Dhaka’s Banani on Monday afternoon.

Earlier, Ruhul Amin Howlader told media that they would nominate at least 200 candidates for the forthcoming national polls but they would finalise the candidates after discussing with Awami League.

He said they would submit the nomination papers to the Election Commission today (Tuesday).

The party is yet to confirm as to how many seats it will get from the Awami League-led Grand Alliance.

The party sold 2,865 nomination forms primarily and selected 780 nomination seekers for interview but as many as 300 candidates were finally selected for nomination.

Although a 15-member board was formed to pick up candidates, its members do not have any significant role in selecting the candidates. The party chief takes final decision himself.

The party initially decided to approve candidates in all 300 seats but later the number came down to 200. Many of the nomination seekers were disappointed after the party backtracked from the decision.

Sources said many of the party leaders are dissatisfied with the AL’s decision to nominate their candidates for a few constituencies from where some JP heavyweights were hopeful about getting the alliance ticket.

Awami League has nominated its candidate for Patuakhali-1 constituency where Jatiya Party General Secretary ABM Ruhul Amin Howlader is the current MP.

Salman F Rahman, an adviser to Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, has been nominated for the Dhaka-1 constituency. Jatiya Party Presidium Member Salma Islam is the current MP of this seat.

Awami League’s Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Noufel has been nominated for the Chattogram-9 constituency.  Jatiya Presidium Member Ziauddin Ahmed (Bablu) won the last parliamentary election from this constituency.