BangladeshPost placeholder

Staff Correspondent
Grand Alliance led by ruling Awami League will announce its candidates for the December 30 national elections on Saturday or Sunday.
The list of candidates is at its final stage, sources said, adding that the candidates selected for nomination are being checked, crosschecked and reexamined. The full list will be disclosed either on Saturday or Sunday.
Earlier, leaders of parties in the 14-party alliance and Jatiya Party have held several meetings with AL President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina over seat sharing.
During their meeting with AL high commands, Jatiya Party submitted a list of 70 seats while AL’s other allied partners demanded another 70 seats.

However, according to sources, the high command of the ruling AL have instructed its front ranking leaders to leave 62 to 64 seats for its allies. And Jatiya Party has been convinced with 40 to 42 seats.
Jatiya Party decided to contest the forthcoming general elections under the Awami League-led Grand Alliance. The party went to the elections under the Grand Alliance in 2008 as well.
Meanwhile, other AL allies registered with the Election Commission (EC) i.e. Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD Inu), Workers Party of Bangladesh, Samyabadi Dal, the Ganatantri Party, the National Awami Party – NAP, and Tarikat Federation and the Jatiya Party (Manju-JP) held talks with AL high commands over seat sharing.

Besides, unregistered parties — Gana Azadi League, Ganatantrik Majdur League, Communist Kendra, Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal, Islami Front, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh (BDB) led Jukta Front, Bangladesh and Krishak Sramik Party — also had several meetings with the AL senior leaders in this regard.
Meanwhile, BDB President Dr AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury and Jatiya Party Co-Chairman GM Quader held separate emergency meetings with AL President Sheikh Hasina at Ganobhaban, official residence of prime minister, on Tuesday.
In the 2008 elections, AL won 230 and the Jatiya Party 27 after they had nominated 264 and 49 candidates respectively. And AL won 234 seats after nominating 247 in the 2014 elections boycotted by BNP. Jatiya Party contested in 86 seats and won 34 in that election.
It became the main opposition in parliament after BNP, the archrival of the ruling Awami League, stayed away from the last parliamentary polls in 2014.

According to the announced schedule, the 11th parliamentary election will be held on December 30. Candidates will have to submit nomination forms by Nov 28. They will be scrutinised on December 2 and the deadline for withdrawing candidature is December 9. The alliances will have to decide on the allocation of constituencies before then.