Staff Correspondent
The ruling Awami League (AL) on Friday started distributing nomination papers among the aspirants from the party for the forthcoming 11th parliamentary elections scheduled to be held on December 23.
AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader inaugurated the sale of nomination forms at AL President’s new political office in Dhanmondi in the city by buying two nomination forms for party President Sheikh Hasina.
Since early morning leaders along with their associates and activists from across the country in separate processions started thronging the party office, turning the whole area very lively and exciting. Leaders and activists boarding buses from different districts gathered at the party office. Carrying placards, posters and festoons they were seen marching towards the party office. The aspirants were allowed to enter the office only with a limited number of supporters.
The party has fixed Tk 30,000 as the price for each nomination form.
Of the two nomination forms Obaidul Quader collected on behalf of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina one is for Gopalganj-3 constituency, while the name the other constituency has not been known yet. However, Obaidul Quader said it would be disclosed later. He also bought nomination form for Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury who is now abroad. Chief Whip of Jatiya Sangsad ASM Firoz and Whip Atiqur Rahman were present at that time.
Chanting slogans and singing party song with the beating of band party music, activists were also seen dancing in the area. “I along with our many activists in a procession came here (Dhanmondi party office) from Madaripur by launch as our leader A F M Bahauddin Nasim will collect nomination form to contest from the Madaripur constituency-3” Shamim, an AL activist of Madaripur district told reporters.
Sarowar Alam, another AL activist, said he along many local leaders and workers came to AL president’s party office as their leader Monira Sultan Moni wanted to contest from the Bhaluka constituency. On the other hand, many nomination seekers sent their local leaders to purchase form in favour of them.
“I was in the long queue at 8am to collect form infavour of my leader incumbent lawmaker Abdru Rouf of Kushtia constituency-4. At last I entered the office at 10 am,” Nirmol Biswas, personal assistant of lawmaker Abdru Rouf told reporters.
Hamidur Rahman, first time aspirant of Kurigram constituency-2, said he wants to contest the parliamentary poll for the time.
“Some four leaders are seeking nomination from this constituency. I hope that the party will nominate him to contest the polls,” he said
Al has opened eight booths for selling nomination papers for candidates of the eight divisions. Joint secretaries and organizing secretaries are supervising the party’s nomination distribution of eight divisions.
Joint Secretary Dr Dipu Moni and Organizing Secretary Barrister Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury are supervising the sale of nomination form for Dhaka division, Joint Secretary Mahbub-ul-Alam Hanif and Organizing Secretary Ahmad Hossain for Sylhet division, Joint Secretary Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Organizing Secretary BM Mozammel Haq for Rangpur division, Joint Secretary Mahbub-ul-Alam Hanif and Organizing Secretary AKM Enamul Haque Shamin for Chattogram division, Joint Secretary Abdur Rahman and Organizing Secretary Abu Sayeed Al Mahmuud Swapon for Khulna division, Joint Secretary Abdur Rahman and Organizing Secretary AFM Bahauddin Nasim for Barishal division, Joint Secretary Advocate Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Organizing Secretary Khalid Mahmuud Chowdhuy for Rajshahi division and Joint Secretary Dr. Dipu Moni and Organizing Secretary Advocate Misbah Uddin Siraj are in charge of Mymensingh division.