BP Report
Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury has approved Jatiya Party (JP) Chairman HM Ershad as the leader of the opposition in parliament.
The JS speaker also ratified JP Co-chairman GM Quader as deputy leader of the opposition, the parliament secretariat said in a statement issued on Thursday.
Securing 22 seats in the recent general election Jatiya Party emerged as the second largest political party in parliament. Even though the JP contested the polls as a key ally of the ruling Awami League in the Grand Alliance, it decided to form the main opposition in parliament.
Jatiya Party had also acted as the main opposition after Awami League returned to their second-consecutive term in the 2014 general election.
With Ershad’s wife Raushon Ershad as leader of the opposition, Jatiya Party had then replaced BNP as the main opposition in parliament.
In the 2018 election, Awami League returned for a third-consecutive term in power, winning with its allies a total 288 of the 299 seats. The Oikya Front, the opposition alliance which competed under the BNP’s ‘paddy sheaf’ symbol, won eight.
The Awami league and its new cabinet, including their allies, took oath of office as members of parliament on Jan 3. According to the rules, the first session of the new parliament will have to begin within 30 days of national election. On Monday, 46 ministers of the new cabinet took oath of office led by Sheikh Hasina, who was sworn in as prime minister for a record fourth time. On the other hand, winning candidates of the BNP, after rejecting the results of the Dec 30 election over reports of rigging, refused to take oath of office.