BangladeshPost placeholder

BD Post Report

The much talked-about dialogue between the ruling 14-party alliance and newly formed Jatiya Oikyafront is set to be held at Ganobhaban at 7pm today.
Prime Minister and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina will lead a 23-member delegation of the ruling alliance while a 16-member Oikyafront delegation will be led by Dr Kamal Hossain.
Awami League leaders Obaidul Quader, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Matia Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Mohammad Nasim, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Kazi Zafar Ullah, Workers Party of Bangladesh leader Rashed Khan Menon, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) leader Hasanul Huq Inu, JSD-faction leader Mainul Khan Badol and Sammobadi Dal leader Dilip Barua are among the 23-member delegation.
The other members of the 14-alliance delegation are: Advocate Anisul Huq, Adv Abdul Matin Khasru, Dr Mohammad Abdur Razzak, Sree Ramesh Chandra Sen, Mahbubul Alam Hanif, Dr Dipu Moni, Abdur Rahman, Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap, Dr Hasan Mahmud and Advocate S M Rezaul Karim.

In a letter to AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader, Ganoforum General Secretary Mustafa Mohsin Montu on Tuesday sent the names of the 16-member Oikyafront delegation.

Of them, five are from the BNP. They are party’s Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Barrister Moudud Ahmed, Mirza Abbas and Barrister Jamiruddin Sircar.

Other members are Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) President ASM Abdur Rab and its General Secretary Abdul Malek Ratan and Vice-president Tania Rab; Ganoforum General Secretary Mustafa Mohsin Montu and its Executive President Subrata Chowdhury; Nagorik Oikya Convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna and its Adviser SM Akram; Jatiya Oikya Prokriya Member Secretary ABM Mostafa Amin and its member Sultan Muhammed Mansur Ahmad and Ganoshasthya Kendra founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury.

Responding to the newly formed Jatiya Oikyafront’s call for dialogue over the next national election, Sheikh Hasina formally invited the alliance to take part in talks with ruling alliance at Gono Bhaban at 7pm today.

The issue of dialogue surfaced when Dr Kamal, president of Ganoforum – a key component of the Oikyafront, wrote to the prime minister on October 28 asking for dialogue.

The Jatiya Oikyafront has already announced a seven-point demand for holding the next parliament election in a participatory manner.

Awami League on Tuesday also invited Bikalpadhara Bangladesh of Dr AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury to a dialogue on November 2 over the next general election.

Earlier, Bikalpa Dhara sent two letters to Awami League, requesting the party to take initiative for a dialogue.

Bikalpadhara leaders Abdur Rouf Mannan and Omar Faruq handed over the letters to the Awami League president and the general secretary in the evening.

Awami League joint general secretary Abdur Rahman received the letters.  In a latest development, Jatiya Party Chairman HM Ershad on Wednesday also sent a letter to Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina saying that he would like to sit with her before the upcoming 11th national elections.

The JP chief, in the letter, further said he wants leaders of United National Alliance to also join the talks with the PM, Sunil Shubho Roy, political and press secretary of HM Ershad, told journalists. Jatiya Party is a component of the United National Alliance which is comprised of 58 political parties.

The letter was handed over to the Prime Minister’s Office by Sunil Shubho Roy around at 11:45am this morning.

On October 13, the BNP, Ganoforum led by Dr Kamal, JSD by Rab, Nagorik Oikya by Manna and Forward Party formed the alliance and named it Oikyafront.