BangladeshPost placeholder

Chattogram Correspondent
Nominated candidates from different political parties submitted their nomination papers on the last day on Wednesday for the 11th parliament election-2018. The aspirant candidates from 16 constituencies in the city and district submitted their nomination papers at their respective election offices with much enthusiasm and festivity amid tight security measures.
Of the total, candidates from six constituencies in the city corporation area submitted their nomination papers in the office of the divisional commissioner while the remaining 10 candidates from different upazilas submitted their nomination papers in the respective offices of the deputy commissioner and the Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO).
Awami League (AL) candidate Barrister Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Nowfel nominated for Chattogram-9 constituency (Kotwali-Bakalia) submitted his nomination paper at the office of the divisional commissioner accompanied by AL leaders including Chattogram city AL acting President Mahtab Uddin Chowdhury and its General Secretary (GS) and city Mayor AJM Nasir Uddin.
AL presidium member Engineer Mosharraf Hossain for Chattogram -1 constituency (Mirsarai), Dr Hasan Mahmud for Chattogram-7, ABM Fazle Karim Chowdhury for Chattogram-6 constituency (Raozan-Hathazari), Dr Afsarul Amin for Chattogram-10 constituency (Halishahor-Doublemooring), and Mostafizur Rahman Chowdhury for Chattogram-16 constituency (Banskhali) submitted their nomination papers at the office of the deputy commissioner. Meanwhile, BNP leaders Amir Kasru Mahmud Chowdhury for Chattogram-11 constituency (Bandar-Patenga), Abdullah Al Noman for Chattogram-10 constituency (Halishahor-Doublemooring), LDP President Colonel Oli Ahmed for Chattogram-13 constituency (Chandonish), M Morshed Khan for Chattogram-8 Chandgoan-Boalkhali), Jafrul Islam Chowdhury, for Chattogram-16 constituency (Banskhali), Mostafa Kamal Pasa for Sandwip-3 also submitted their respective nomination papers at the concern offices of the returning officer.
Chattogram-13 constituency (Anwara) candidate Saifuzzaman Chowdhury Jabed, JSD President Mainuddin Khan Badal for Chattogram-8 (Chandgoan-Boalkhali), Chattogram-3 constituency (Sandwip) candidate Mahfuzur Rahman Mita, Chattogram-12 constituency (Patiya) candidate Shamsul Hoque Chowdhury, Chattogram-11 constituency (Bandar) candidate MA Latif and Chattogram-4 constituency (Sitakunda) candidate Didarul Alam submitted their nomination papers from AL at the concern returning officers office. Chattogram Divisional Commissioner Mohammad Abdul Mannan said they distributed an adequate number of nomination papers and hoped that the election would be held in a free and fair manner.
According to the election schedule, deadline for submission of nomination papers ended yesterday.