Sports Reporter
The players’ draft for the sixth edition of Bangladesh Premier League is over and among the 552 drafted cricketers (186 local and 366 overseas), 86 have been roped in by the seven participating teams. The players’ draft took place at Radisson Blu Water Garden Hotel in Dhaka on Sunday. The franchises were given the opportunity to retain up to four players from their last season’s squads. They were allowed to sign two players from outside the draft. Each team were allowed to recruit a maximum of 12 local cricketers and nine overseas players and four of the non-nationals will be allowed to be named in the playing eleven for every side.
Early, Bangladesh’s wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim will play for Chittagong Vikings in the upcoming season of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).
The returning cricketer will play under former Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim’s captaincy in the sixth season of the Bangladesh Premier League as the franchise picked up the wicket-keeper batsman from the A+ category (the top category) just a few minutes before the player drafts. Meanwhile, Mohammad Ashraful has been picked by Chittagong Vikings during the player draft for the upcoming season of the tournament who was banned from all forms of the game after being found involved in the BPL match-fixing .
Star Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi who played the previous edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) for Dhaka Dynamites has been recruited by defending champion Comilla Victorians for the upcoming season of the tournament. Australia formal voice captain David Warner signed with Sylhet Sixers, former South Africa captain AB de Villiers who will be playing his first BPL season with Rangpur Riders.
Three cricketers from Afghanistan- all-rounder Gulbadin Naib, chinaman Zahir Khan Pakteen and batsman Najibullah Zadran-who will play the first time in BPL.
The sixth edition of the BPL will start take place between January 5 and February 8 next year.
Here is a list of players of all seven BPL teams.
Dhaka Dynamites: Rubel Hossain (Category A), Nurul Hasan (Category B), Rony Talukder (Category C), Shuvagoto Hom (Category B), Andrew Birch (South Africa, Category E), Ian Bell (England, Category D) Qazi Onik (Category E), Mizanur Rahman (Category D), Asif Hasan (Category C), Shahadat Hossain (Category B), Mohammad Naim (Category E)
Before the draft: Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Rovman Powell, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Hazratullah Zazai
Chittagong Vikings: Mosaddek Hossain (Category A), Abu Jayed (Category A), Khaled Ahmed (Category D), Nayeem Hasan (Category E), Cameron Delport (South Africa, Category D), Dasun Shanaka (Sri Lanka, Category D), Mohammad Ashraful (Category B), Rabiul Haque (Category E), Yasir Ali Chowdhury (Category C), Nihaduzzaman (Category C), Nazibullah Zadran (Afghanistan, Category F), Salman Islam. Before the draft: Sikandar Raza, Luke Ronchi, Najibullah Zadran, Sunzamul Islam, Mohammad Shahzad, Robbie Frylinck
Rangpur Riders: Shafiul Islam (category A), Sohag Gazi (Category C), Farhad Reza (Category B), Mehedi Maruf (Category C), Ravi Bopara (England, Category B), Rilee Rosssouw (South Africa, Category B), Nahidul Islam (Category D), Nadif Chowdhury (Category C), Abul Hasan (Category B), Faraden Hossain Anik (Category E), Benny Howell (England, Category D), Oshane Thomas (Windies).
Before the draft: Chris Gayle, Mashrafe Mortaza, Nazmul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, AB de Villiers, Alex Hales
Comilla Victorians: Abu Hider (Category A), Anamul Haque (Category A), Mahedi Hasan (Category B), Ziaur Rahman (Category C), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan, Category A+), Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka, Category A), Mosharraf Hossain (Category C), Mohammad Shahid (Category C), Shamsur Rahman (Category C), Sanjit Saha (Category D), Evin Lewis (Windies, Category A+), Waqar Salamkheil (Afghanistan), Amir Yasim (Pakistan)
Before the draft: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoaib Malik, Asela Gunaratne, Liam Dawson
Khulna Titans: Jahurul Islam (Category B), Shoriful Islam (Category E), Taijul Islam (Category B), Mohammad Al-Amin (Category B), Zahir Khan (Afghanistan, Category D), Sherfane Rutherford (Windies, Category E), Subhashis Roy (Category B), Junaid Siddiqui (Category C), Tanvir Islam (Category E), Mahidul Islam Ankon (Category E), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka, Category A), Yasir Shah (Pakistan), Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe)
Before the draft: Mahmudullah Riyad, Ariful Haque, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Carlos Brathwaite, Dawid Malan, Ali Khan
Rajshahi Kings: Soumya Sarkar (Category A), Fazle Mahmud (Category B), Arafat Sunny (Category C), Alauddin Babu (Category C), Isuru Udana (Sri Lanka, Category E), Laurie Evans (England, Category E), Marshal Ayub (Category C), Kamrul Islam (Category B), Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands, Category D), Seekkuge Prasanna (Sri Lanka), Mohammad Sami (Pakistan)
Before the draft: Mominul Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Zakir Hasan, Qais Ahmed, Christiaan Jonker
Sylhet Sixers: Afif Hossain (Category B), Taskin Ahmed (Category B), Al-Amin Hossain (Category C), Towhid Hridoy (Category E), Fabian Allen (Windies, Category E), Mohammad Irfan (Pakistan, Category C), Nabil Samad (Category C), Ebadat Hossain (Category D), Alok Kapali (Category C), Zakir Ali Anik (Category C), Gulbadin Naib (Afghanistan, Category D), Andre Fletcher (Windies), Mehedi Hassan Rana (Category C), Nicholas Pooran (Windies)
Before the draft: Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Liton Das, Sohail Tanvir, David Warner, Sandeep Lamichhane.